Replacing 80's Light Switches - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 06-01-2018, 12:34 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 4
Default

Replacing 80's light switches


Hi everyone, I'm new to the chatroom and I'm hoping someone here can tell me if I did something right (or wrong!).

I'm replacing the switches in a double gang box that was installed in the 1980's (one is the light and the other is the fan). I've done several other outlet and switch replacements in the house, but this one had something different.

The new switches of course have a ground wire terminal, but the old ones do not. However, there are 4 ground wires in the box that are all just wound together. (As an aside, I don't know why there are 4 wires coming into the box since it's only going out to 2 things. It sort of appears that there are 2 power sources coming in that are wound together before the first switch.) I just left the ground wires as-is and hooked everything back up with the new switches the same way as the old ones.

Should I have connected the ground wires to the switches?
burgoo1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-01-2018, 01:13 PM   #2
retired framer
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Fraser Valley BC Canada
Posts: 38,181
Rewards Points: 970
Default

Re: Replacing 80's light switches


Quote:
Originally Posted by burgoo1 View Post
Hi everyone, I'm new to the chatroom and I'm hoping someone here can tell me if I did something right (or wrong!).

I'm replacing the switches in a double gang box that was installed in the 1980's (one is the light and the other is the fan). I've done several other outlet and switch replacements in the house, but this one had something different.

The new switches of course have a ground wire terminal, but the old ones do not. However, there are 4 ground wires in the box that are all just wound together. (As an aside, I don't know why there are 4 wires coming into the box since it's only going out to 2 things. It sort of appears that there are 2 power sources coming in that are wound together before the first switch.) I just left the ground wires as-is and hooked everything back up with the new switches the same way as the old ones.

Should I have connected the ground wires to the switches?
Power comes and goes and is also feeds the light and fan.
You have power coming in and going on to another light or outlet. So four makes sense from that cluster of grounds you should also have tied to the switch..
Nealtw is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-01-2018, 01:31 PM   #3
Very Stable Genius
 
CodeMatters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,152
Rewards Points: 802
Default

Re: Replacing 80's light switches


Switches aren't required to be grounded up here except by means of the
6-32 screws which attach them to the box. If the box is metal your switch
straps will be gnd'd this way and I wouldn't bother changing it.
CodeMatters is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-01-2018, 01:32 PM   #4
Member
 
hkstroud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Virginia
Posts: 3,356
Rewards Points: 6,694
Default

Re: Replacing 80's light switches


Quote:
Should I have connected the ground wires to the switches?

Yes. Find a short piece of ground wire about 8 inches long. Add it to the bundle of ground wires. Then warp it under the ground screw of one switch (about mid way of the length) then connect the end to the other switch ground screw.
__________________
Harold,
The Left Handed Widget Maker
hkstroud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2018, 01:38 PM   #5
retired framer
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Fraser Valley BC Canada
Posts: 38,181
Rewards Points: 970
Default

Re: Replacing 80's light switches


The wire is copper??
Nealtw is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Tags
double gang , electrical , electrical box , switch box , switches


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing 3 Diva Switches and 2 "3 way" switches with Grafik Eye QS Dimmer HTFreak Electrical 0 05-04-2016 08:53 AM
Mercury light switches av-geek Electrical 11 07-31-2012 08:38 PM
Replacing light w/ ceiling fan, 3 switches? burnt03 Electrical 5 07-06-2012 08:39 PM
Replacing old switches RyanS2000 Electrical 4 09-11-2011 03:21 PM
light switches wired in series -- why? magnolia Electrical 2 05-11-2008 11:16 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts