Replace Fan Light With Non Fan-Light? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 08-30-2010, 03:45 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Replace Fan Light with Non Fan-Light?


How do I properly wire up this light I purchase? There was a basic generic white fan light previously hooked up before this. Now, I have just a fan-less light installed but not sure how to hook this up. Please explain.

Here's the picture of all the wires in the wall, see attached.

2 Reds
2 Blacks
2 Whites
2 Grounds

I want to install a dimmer light switch and then a regular decorative switch as well. Its obviously double switch (or whatever the terminology is) in the wall panel.
Attached Thumbnails
Replace Fan Light with Non Fan-Light?-imag0063.jpg  
Chadi is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-30-2010, 04:04 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 12,413
Rewards Points: 3,662
Default


Why would you want to install both a dimmer and a toggle switch to control the same fixture from one location?
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-30-2010, 04:29 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default


I might be wrong, but I believe the second switch is for one of the outlets.
Chadi is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-04-2010, 05:27 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Would appreciate help on this please.
Chadi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 12:56 AM   #5
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Did you make a note how it hook up before you took the switches apart ??

Normally with relivte new homes in the ceiling juction box { as long they are fan rated } you should have Black , Red , White and of course bare conductor.

If so then it will be much easier to hook up the black for the fan while the red is used for the light { if the ceiling fan have seperated wire for the light typcially either Bleu or black with white stripe as long it tagged for light }

Most of the new home I work on normaly I will install two gang box simauir to your set up so you have one switch for fan while second switch is for light which it is common { few will request single gang or have to use single gang due the construction of the wall will affect it }

Let us know what you have at the ceiling luminaire location to verify it first before we go on more further and by the way three way switches there ??

The reason why I see due little non standard set up due the white conductors there used on the switch.


Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2010, 07:33 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Springfield OH
Posts: 769
Rewards Points: 500
Default


Quote:
Would appreciate help on this please.
I have found everyone to be quite helpful when there is enough information to go on. I am afraid that is not the case here. It would also help if you answer some of the questions posted already.

Did you have only a single fan/light combo before, or did the switch control more than one fixture? In your original setup, did you have separate switches for light and for fan? In your original setup, did you have more than one switch controlling the fan or light? Do you have the ability to measure voltages?
oberkc is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pilot light button on furnace won't turn whydonchathen HVAC 8 01-19-2015 10:40 AM
Reasonable cost to replace mailbox and light post? akphs Off Topic 1 04-26-2010 09:55 PM
Extend a circuit/draw power from light Ontario Electrical 3 03-23-2010 06:41 PM
Can I use recessed light wiring for a regualr light? integrity634 Electrical 1 03-18-2009 06:29 PM
Whirlpool Microwave light issue mustangcobra44 Appliances 8 08-14-2008 03:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts