Replace 2 Prong Outlets With 3 Prong Outlets - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 03-09-2009, 01:33 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 2,487
Rewards Points: 2,350
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildie View Post
Hmmm! Interesting! I guess I don't quite understand how these effect my kitchen toaster!
As opposed to your bathroom toaster?
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-09-2009, 01:48 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gigs View Post
Wildie the primary benefit is that if the chassis becomes energized, then as soon as someone touches it, the GFCI will trip. They will get a little bite for a few milliseconds.

A real ground would operate the circuit breaker as soon as the chassis became energized. No one need touch it.

In the case of an intermittent ground fault, with ground, the CB would trip as soon as the first solid fault. With the GFCI and no ground, this condition could exist for years.

These differences exist even with your kitchen toaster.
What happens in the meantime, before its a solid fault?
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-09-2009, 01:49 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by InPhase277 View Post
As opposed to your bathroom toaster?
how did you know about that?
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-09-2009, 04:40 PM   #19
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Rewards Points: 500
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildie View Post
What happens in the meantime, before its a solid fault?
If it's a relatively high resistance fault, it could start a fire from heating effects. If it's an arcing fault that isn't solid enough to trip a CB, that's what an AFCI is supposed to catch.

Nothing can catch 100% of faults. A GFCI with proper ground can catch a lot of them though.
Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 06:00 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gigs View Post
If it's a relatively high resistance fault, it could start a fire from heating effects. If it's an arcing fault that isn't solid enough to trip a CB, that's what an AFCI is supposed to catch.

Nothing can catch 100% of faults. A GFCI with proper ground can catch a lot of them though.
Thanks Gigs, don't have any of those AFCI's though!
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 11:20 AM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


I think rpsjn4 has left the premises. . .
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 11:44 AM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoyizit View Post
I think rpsjn4 has left the premises. . .

Husband probably convinced her that he "can" do it himself...

Sad isn't it? People putting other peoples live in danger...
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 12:03 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by rgsgww View Post
Husband probably convinced her that he "can" do it himself...

Sad isn't it? People putting other peoples live in danger...
Or he gave up or he is going to hire someone or . . .

OP feedback makes for better replies.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 01:56 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoyizit View Post
Or he gave up or he is going to hire someone or . . .

OP feedback makes for better replies.

It sure does...
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 09:20 PM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default


Elvis has left the building.




Maybe if we mocked her husband , she would come back???
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2010, 07:50 AM   #26
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default


IS using self gounded recepticles ok to use when converting?
Tekno9000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 01:24 PM   #27
Inspector/Instructor
 
codeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 250
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tekno9000 View Post
IS using self gounded recepticles ok to use when converting?
NO! Not unless you have a ground wire back to the panel.
codeone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 01:34 PM   #28
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tekno9000 View Post
IS using self gounded recepticles ok to use when converting?

Simple answer is no you can not do that if there is no ground wire or in legit EMT conduit or ground wire is there.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 wire outlets: connect neutral to ground? border collie Electrical 19 04-12-2013 12:29 PM
Triplex Outlets jamiedolan Electrical 33 10-14-2008 06:07 PM
outlets work, but barely (?) joeyboy Electrical 7 08-27-2008 08:37 AM
2 Prong Electrical mjcongleton Electrical 10 04-16-2008 08:59 AM
Replacements for two prong outlets? Tmb9862 Electrical 9 01-10-2007 09:11 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts