Removing Bathroom Ceiling Junction Box - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree2Likes

Old 03-26-2019, 01:00 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 26

Removing bathroom ceiling junction box

Hello,

I'm a newbie here hoping to replace a bathroom ceiling heater. The pic of the wiring box was wired to a ceiling heater with fan and heating coil, no exhaust. I want to put a recessed heater with fan and light (no exhaust because there is no duct work. I want to move the junction box to see if I have room in the ceiling. Apparently it was attached inside the drywall after framing prior to drywalling? I can't see any screws or nails. I want to see how wide the flooring joists are spaced, probably 16", if there is an plumbing or other things in the way. There is living space above and I need to see if a new heater will fit in there. How do I get this junction box out without taking out the drywall so I can take a look? Is there a replacement box I can put back in and attach from the outside/current view in case I need to leave it as shown? I'm hoping to install something like this https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0014ZPQEK...v_ov_lig_dp_it

If there is room, can I cut a hole in the drywall slightly bigger than the fan box, smaller than the grill, fit it in and have room to attach to joists without making extra large drywall cut out that I have to repair?

Will this cause any future problems, ceiling dry rot etc.?

Or I could save myself a lot of work and install this https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0001ZLR0G...v_ov_lig_dp_it

But it is a bit old school for the bathroom modernization I'm trying to accomplish.

Thank you!
Attached Thumbnails
Removing bathroom ceiling junction box-bathroom-ceiling-heater-wiring.jpg  
farwellbooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-26-2019, 03:15 AM   #2