Receptacle And Plug Not The Same - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 08-25-2015, 05:05 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 2
Default

receptacle and plug not the same


forgive my ignorance but I am in need of some assistance
I have a three prong female receptacle that reads 50A 125/250V, what I need is to plug in a three prong plug that reads 20A 250V.

is this a possibility? what do i need in order to accomplish this? any info will help my google-fu has been exhausted
Attached Thumbnails
receptacle and plug not the same-unnamed-1-.jpg   receptacle and plug not the same-unnamed.jpg  
spooky-1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-25-2015, 05:43 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,366
Rewards Points: 129
Default


The receptacle is a 240 volt receptacle with two hits and a ground . It doesn't matter what the plug days . That is just the maximum voltage that it is rated for . What we need its voltage rating if device that plug is connected two . It looks like a 20 amp plug for a 120volt device . One hot , one neutral and a ground . If that's the case you will need a new circuit . The dryer outlet won't work.
jimn01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-25-2015, 05:49 AM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 7,829
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by jimn01 View Post
The receptacle is a 240 volt receptacle with two hits and a ground . It doesn't matter what the plug days . That is just the maximum voltage that it is rated for . What we need its voltage rating if device that plug is connected two . It looks like a 20 amp plug for a 120volt device . One hot , one neutral and a ground . If that's the case you will need a new circuit . The dryer outlet won't work.
Wow. Care to try again?
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-25-2015, 05:52 AM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 7,829
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default


Spooky, you cannot do what you propose.

You have an old non-grounding 50A 120/240V range receptacle. This is a 50A circuit with two hots, a neutral and no ground. This can only be used for a cooking appliance.

The plug is a NEMA 6-20, which is a straight 240V-20A plug, two hots and a ground. You need a 20A, 240V circuit to plug this in.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2015, 06:10 AM   #5
Member
 
dmxtothemax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Brisbane, Australia.
Posts: 5,466
Rewards Points: 7,890
Default


DITTO !
You cannot do it !
2 main reasons -
1 - you cannot plug a 20a into a 50s
BIG no no !
2 - said 50a outlet has no neutral.
So you need a new circuit.
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2015, 07:04 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,141
Rewards Points: 3,396
Default


the plug is 250v not 120 (no neutral)

op, there's something you can do, but you will need to do something. (sounds like something Yogi Berra would have said)
ritelec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2015, 07:07 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,141
Rewards Points: 3,396
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Spooky, you cannot do what you propose.

You have an old non-grounding 50A 120/240V range receptacle. This is a 50A circuit with two hots, a neutral and no ground. This can only be used for a cooking appliance.
what?

wouldn't be able to use that wire as a ground…? what?

It's probable a ground wire, and the exception to use it as a neutral was for the oven appliance.
ritelec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2015, 09:29 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 2,487
Rewards Points: 2,350
Default


It is not a 240 volt receptacle. It is a 120/240 volt receptacle without a ground.

All is not lost of course, but it would require the neutral be moved in the panel to the ground bar, if it is a different bar, and the breaker be changed.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2015, 10:50 AM   #9
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,296
Rewards Points: 4,548
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by ritelec View Post
what?

wouldn't be able to use that wire as a ground…? what?

It's probable a ground wire, and the exception to use it as a neutral was for the oven appliance.
Look at the terminal labels on a NEMA 10-50 receptacle. The straight slot is labeled W. It is not a ground.

Sometimes I would swear you were related to Cletus .
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (08-25-2015)
Old 08-25-2015, 11:01 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,141
Rewards Points: 3,396
Default



yes I see it….. 125/250v

no ground…….

although it is……

it's neutral for sake of Current carrying, yet it is "grounded" ("ground" conductor) which goes to the chassis as "ground"……….. although it's neutral.

as mentioned, pretty sure it can be worked with………


AND, we are all assuming, who's to say there is any wire on that device..

and if there is who's to say it's not fed with 2 wire bx and maybe nothing is attached to the W………

there is a wire on the W who's to say it's going to the nutral and not ground..

we are assuming.

But yes………you are correct……… the receptacle configuration is 3 pole 3 wire, not 2 pole 3 wire grounding…


I like cletus..
ritelec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2015, 01:44 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,512
Rewards Points: 1,832
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by jimn01 View Post
The receptacle is a 240 volt receptacle with two hits and a ground . It doesn't matter what the plug days . That is just the maximum voltage that it is rated for . What we need its voltage rating if device that plug is connected two . It looks like a 20 amp plug for a 120volt device . One hot , one neutral and a ground . If that's the case you will need a new circuit . The dryer outlet won't work.

I do not see a ground on the 50amp range receptacle.
Jump-start is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2015, 03:55 PM   #12
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 7,829
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by ritelec View Post


AND, we are all assuming, who's to say there is any wire on that device..

and if there is who's to say it's not fed with 2 wire bx and maybe nothing is attached to the W………

there is a wire on the W who's to say it's going to the nutral and not ground..

we are assuming.
And all these are simply silly assumptions. Possible sure, but really silly for you to even suggest all this nonsense.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
Jim Port (08-25-2015)
Old 09-03-2015, 06:41 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 997
Rewards Points: 1,700
Default


1- remove old 50A plug, put a 20a receptacle (with pigtails), use old neutral for ground.
2 - change panel breaker for double pole 20A. be sure the old neutral is now connected to ground bus.
carmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Range Hood - Replace Corded Plug or Install Receptacle Behind Chimney? Thadius856 Electrical 6 09-14-2012 04:35 PM
How to wire a receptacle to a male plug. ReefGuru Electrical 34 07-24-2012 10:39 AM
Help ID wallplate, plug, receptacle coultond Electrical 3 12-20-2011 08:32 PM
4prong dryer receptacle to 3 prong plug (6-15p to 14-30r) ChronPaul Electrical 11 11-26-2011 07:01 PM
wiring a light fixture to an existing plug receptacle box? San Mike Electrical 7 09-19-2011 12:58 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts