Range Wiring - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Nealtw
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 07-24-2019, 08:36 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Range Wiring


I'm getting new cabinets in an old kitchen and I needed to move the outlet for the range. There are only 3 wires (black, red and bare ground wire) but the outlet is a four prong outlet. What do I do with that ground wire? Does it serve as the neutral? I don't remember how it was hooked up when I removed it.

Last edited by Cball; 07-24-2019 at 08:38 AM. Reason: clarification
Cball is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-24-2019, 08:47 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 725
Rewards Points: 58
Default


The old range used the same wire for neutral and ground. Now days a separate wire is required .
Wiredindallas is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-24-2019, 08:59 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Re: Range Wiring


So do I connect the bare ground wire to the neutral terminal and leave the ground terminal empty?
Cball is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-24-2019, 09:06 AM   #4
retired framer
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Fraser Valley BC Canada
Posts: 32,492
Rewards Points: 8,648
Default

Re: Range Wiring


Same range or new one?
__________________
Do not use flat bottom gables with scissor trusses.
Nealtw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2019, 09:16 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Re: Range Wiring


New range. Actually, we have a gas range but I wanted the wiring in place in case next owner wanted electric.
Cball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2019, 09:20 AM   #6
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 19,786
Rewards Points: 30,888
Blog Entries: 11
Default

Re: Range Wiring


Put in a three prong range receptacle or pull a new four wire cable if you want the four prong receptacle.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2019, 09:31 AM   #7
retired framer
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Fraser Valley BC Canada
Posts: 32,492
Rewards Points: 8,648
Default

Re: Range Wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by Cball View Post
New range. Actually, we have a gas range but I wanted the wiring in place in case next owner wanted electric.
I would pull the breakers for the stove cap the wires on both ends and put a blank on the box behind the stove, and let the next guy deal with it. You can't help him by breaking the rules.
CodeMatters likes this.
__________________
Do not use flat bottom gables with scissor trusses.
Nealtw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2019, 10:18 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Re: Range Wiring


Thanks to all of you for your help. One more question and I'll quit. I could possibly fish a ground wire to this outlet- does it need to be the same gauge as the hot and neutral wires?
Cball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2019, 10:24 AM   #9
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 19,786
Rewards Points: 30,888
Blog Entries: 11
Default

Re: Range Wiring


You already have a bare ground. You are not permitted to fish a neutral, which is what you need.
If you can fish a ground then fish then whole new four wire cable.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2019, 05:08 PM   #10
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 10,582
Rewards Points: 328
Default

Re: Range Wiring


2 insulated conductors and a bare ground was never a compliant 3 wire range circuit.

Sent from my RCT6213W22 using Tapatalk
__________________
My electrical answers are based on 2014 NEC, you may have local amendments.

Location: Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts