Quick Receptacle Question. - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 03-26-2010, 03:36 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 32
Rewards Points: 25
Question

Quick receptacle question.


I usually install my plugs one after another but was wondering if you could feed a middle one and just feed to the one on the right and the one on the left from the middle. I attached a 2 second paint picture to better explain.
Attached Thumbnails
Quick receptacle question.-plugs.jpg  
mj876 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-26-2010, 03:48 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Yes you can, so long as you do not exceed box fill



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-26-2010, 03:59 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 32
Rewards Points: 25
Default


3 wires wont exceed the box fill of a standard 2104 box will it? 3 x 2 x 2 1/2 i believe. I know that its 8 conducters in a box. How is that calculated im going to have 3 black and 3 whites each pigtailed and 3 greens and a pair of marettes. Does that mean i need a bigger box? ( its 8 because im using #14 awg, its canadian)

Last edited by mj876; 03-26-2010 at 04:06 PM.
mj876 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-26-2010, 05:25 PM   #4
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 12,413
Rewards Points: 3,662
Default


In the US the ground would count as one conductor for a total of 9.

Using Table 314.16(A) of the NEC that box is 12.5 cubic inches, unless stamped otherwise. It would be good for 6 #14s.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2010, 05:39 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 32
Rewards Points: 25
Default


Alright i got a 3x2x3 box which is 10 #14s in canada so that works out perfect for 3 whites 3 black 3 grounds.
mj876 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2010, 05:39 PM   #6
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,352
Rewards Points: 910
Default


Technically you are over your box fill
6 wires comeing in-6 conductors
flush mount device-2 conductors
2 marrets-1 conductor.
Grounds do not count in Canada unless they are insulated.

This gives you a total of 9 conductors. I won't tell you to do it anyways because I may get in trouble with Dave but .

MJ you are good to go now with the bigger box, you must have answered while i was typeing my message.

Last edited by darren; 03-26-2010 at 05:42 PM.
darren is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2010, 06:11 PM   #7
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Rewards Points: 500
Default


i'm just glad there's another canadian sparky around to answer the CEC questions
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2010, 06:15 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by darren View Post
This gives you a total of 9 conductors. I won't tell you to do it anyways because I may get in trouble with Dave but .
Sorry
I've just been on the receiving end of people cramming boxes full once too many times
I've seen some boxes so full I'm not sure how they pushed everything into the box



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2010, 06:20 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 32
Rewards Points: 25
Default


Alright guys thanks for all the help. I was 80% sure ground conductors didnt count but that helped as well. Thanks again, Quick help as usual.
mj876 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2010, 08:36 PM   #10
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,352
Rewards Points: 910
Default


Dave on my second day in the trade, i was out with one of our journeyman(an old grumpy one to boot). We were in a house and he told me to go install this dimmer, so i go up take off the old switch pull it out and the box is stuffed beyond full. I tell him it can't be done so he tells me to put the old one back in.

After a day of being yelled at at more or less being called an idiot by him i quickly start putting it back in. He turns the power back on and i go and put the plate back on but there is one wire sticking out to far, so instead of going back down and asking him to turn off the power i try to push it in with my screw driver(with the sharp end of course). Sure enough I scraped the wire and grounded it to the box, thje journeyman wasn't to happy with me.

That was my first lesson on a overfull box
darren is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
quick question about backflow preventer mynd66 HVAC 8 11-07-2009 07:03 PM
Quick HVAC / sump pump wiring question MattOverMinder Electrical 4 01-23-2009 07:42 AM
Quick Question needsomeanswers Building & Construction 4 09-01-2008 09:45 AM
framing an awning...quick question sjrhome Building & Construction 7 12-03-2006 11:24 AM
Electrical receptacle replacement question sherlock Electrical 7 05-20-2005 03:33 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts