Questions About Materials/how. RE: 220v Line - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 05-12-2010, 03:48 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Questions about materials/how. RE: 220v line


I'm in a rental and don't want to install a new breaker. I also don't want to because it may be too much for me. I was talking to a Home Depot employee and he told me I could piggyback off the existing 220 line for my dryer, at the breaker. He emphasizes that I would NOT be able to use both lines. I completely understand that and am installing a timer for the dryer. This way, the hours I will be using my other equipment, the dryer won't work. Just in case the wife forgets.

So, first question: If I can piggyback off the existing breaker, can I just piggy back off the dryer outlet itself? This way, it will be easier to install the dryer timer, and I can use less wire overall. Also, I don't have to open the breaker box if I don't have to. Other than to turn the power off.

2nd: Would I use a box like this large enough to house both outlets?

amarillo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-12-2010, 04:34 PM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 7,828
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default


You cannot do this. Among other things, a dryer line is on a 30A circuit and you CANNOT have standard 15 or 20 amp devices on a 30A circuit.
Speedy Petey is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-12-2010, 04:36 PM   #3
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 18,818
Rewards Points: 23,978
Blog Entries: 11
Default


It's a rental you are not permitted to do any work without landlord permission. It also must be done by licensed electrician.
joed is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-12-2010, 04:43 PM   #4
Sparkaholic
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 192
Rewards Points: 150
Send a message via Yahoo to sparks1up
Default


I would have to agree with both of the above posts!
__________________
Answers based on the mood I am in when you ask!
sparks1up is offline  
Old 05-12-2010, 05:08 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Home Depot employee is completey wrong as USUAL
What you are trying to do is completely wrong

You are a renter & if you burn the place down will be liable for all damages
Do not touch the electric system, call your landlord



Scuba_Dave is offline  
Old 05-12-2010, 05:19 PM   #6
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,413
Rewards Points: 5,082
Default


I'd be curious as to what exactly you are trying to do. Those are 120 volt receps in the photo not 240 volt.
brric is offline  
Old 05-12-2010, 05:40 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default


No, No, I am not gonna use 120v receptacles, I will be using 220v receptacles. I only showed those as an example of the metal "box" I thought I would have to use. I couldn't immediately find the exact one I needed.

I've already talked to my landlord about having someone out to add the line, and it's okay. I would just like to save myself a couple hundred bucks if I could. Considering it isn't my home, I'd like to avoid investing that much.

I also "will" be using 220v equipment.
amarillo is offline  
Old 05-12-2010, 05:47 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Its not your home so no you are not allowed to do the work
You need to hire someone



Scuba_Dave is offline  
Old 05-12-2010, 05:48 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default


I got that. Am I not allowed to ask because it isn't my home? That would make this very clear. Cause, i already understand that it isn't my home.
amarillo is offline  
Old 05-12-2010, 06:11 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Your landlord has stated that you can hire someone
-closed-



Scuba_Dave is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Closed Thread


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can a roof vent identify where my main sewer line exits the house? YerDugliness Plumbing 8 01-26-2010 04:13 PM
Do I need to prime my oil feed line? 1parkpointer HVAC 3 10-22-2009 06:52 PM
electric line and gas line couch potatoe Electrical 17 09-30-2008 10:43 PM
how to run fridge water line under kitchen floor? travishume Plumbing 23 09-26-2006 07:51 AM
Installing exterior faucet to washer line? skellies Plumbing 3 06-18-2006 08:19 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts