Questions About The Garage - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 01-12-2010, 10:50 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,016
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by canyonbc View Post
Scuba Dave

Thank you, so would you recommend a box like this

http://www.homedepot.com/Electrical-...atalogId=10053

In the middle of the panel above all the breaker spots is where this breaker would go into, even though it is a 100 amp service panel.

http://www.homedepot.com/h_d1/N-5yc1...atalogId=10053

or is this one recommended

http://www.homedepot.com/h_d1/N-5yc1...atalogId=10053

Or would you guys recommend something else???
Suggest usually cheaper to use a panel already with a 100a main breaker included - often bundled with a few 20a breakers as well. Then the 60a breaker goes in the main panel that is feeding the sub panel. The 100a breaker in the sub panel provides for the disconnect requirement.

I used a GE panel with 12 slots / 20 circuits for my subpanel. Included 100a main breaker and four 20 amp breakers. Was about $55 via Lowes online. I added 1/2 size breakers for the rest of my needs.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-13-2010, 12:21 AM   #17
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 164
Rewards Points: 150
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by vsheetz View Post
Suggest usually cheaper to use a panel already with a 100a main breaker included - often bundled with a few 20a breakers as well. Then the 60a breaker goes in the main panel that is feeding the sub panel. The 100a breaker in the sub panel provides for the disconnect requirement.

I used a GE panel with 12 slots / 20 circuits for my subpanel. Included 100a main breaker and four 20 amp breakers. Was about $55 via Lowes online. I added 1/2 size breakers for the rest of my needs.
Just went and looked up what you are talking about. $ 54 plus tax.

I like the set up the GE has, and the price alot.

However, it makes a little nervous with everyone saying you do not want to cross companies.

What do you mean though 1/2 size breakers???

Last edited by canyonbc; 01-13-2010 at 01:01 AM.
canyonbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-13-2010, 12:25 AM   #18
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


60 amp subpanel in garage will be plenty big for your useage.

However let me address this part here.

You will need 4 conductor set up { Black , Red , White et green }

Is this garage is attached or detached ?

If detached you only can run one circuit to detached building so subpanel will work fine with this set up.

Basically the Garage have no specfic spacing between the recpectales but 4 to 6 feet apart is normal

The receptale height it pretty much up to the person use the garage some mounted at 52 inch AFF some at 42 inches AFF

For general receptale circuits I will required at least 2 circuits 20 amp and yeah GFCI'ed them
Keep the light circuit seperated from the receptale this is obovus reason due if something trip the breaker you don't have to walk around in dark.


Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-13-2010, 01:03 AM   #19
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 164
Rewards Points: 150
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
60 amp subpanel in garage will be plenty big for your useage.

However let me address this part here.

You will need 4 conductor set up { Black , Red , White et green }

Is this garage is attached or detached ?

If detached you only can run one circuit to detached building so subpanel will work fine with this set up.

Basically the Garage have no specfic spacing between the recpectales but 4 to 6 feet apart is normal

The receptale height it pretty much up to the person use the garage some mounted at 52 inch AFF some at 42 inches AFF

For general receptale circuits I will required at least 2 circuits 20 amp and yeah GFCI'ed them
Keep the light circuit seperated from the receptale this is obovus reason due if something trip the breaker you don't have to walk around in dark.


Merci,Marc
Yea it is a detached garage

Makes sense seperating them.

Does anyone know about any code that you have to have exterior lights. I am would like some light but wanted to see if anyone knows of any code stating you have too.
canyonbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 01:08 AM   #20
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 164
Rewards Points: 150
Default


So this evening I have been cruising around Lowes and Home D. website looking at all the different breakers.

One thing I am having a hard time understanding, partly why, and what is the difference good or bad.

Some of the breakers are single pole circuit breakers and others are double pole circuit breakers.

I was looking at this panel box, vsheetz, used in his detached garage

http://www.lowes.com/pd_214802-76863-TM1210CCUG1K_0_?productId=1060125&Ntt=ge%20100%20a mp%20panel&Ntk=i_products&pl=1&currentURL=/pl__0__s?newSearch=true$Ntt=ge%20100%20amp%20panel $y=8$x=40
canyonbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 01:26 AM   #21
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by canyonbc View Post
Yea it is a detached garage

Makes sense seperating them.

Does anyone know about any code that you have to have exterior lights. I am would like some light but wanted to see if anyone knows of any code stating you have too.
You will need one at one of the exterior door any other location is optional.


As far for the breaker choice they are pretty good products

and you mention GE breakers they are ok to me

The single pole breaker is common use for 120 volt circuits
The double pole breaker can work either way as two 120 volt circuits aka MWBC or 120/240 volt useage or straght 240 volts

As vsheetz posted his link about the load centre that is GE load centre and that is 12 space panel full size only it will not take the half breaker aka tandem breakers or half inch breaker.

That is the other item you have to watch out when you slect smaller panels becarefull with the models they sell in big box store some are only rated for full sized breakers and some are rated to take tandem or half inch breakers depending on what model and manufacter it is.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 03:26 AM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,016
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post

As vsheetz posted his link about the load centre that is GE load centre and that is 12 space panel full size only it will not take the half breaker aka tandem breakers or half inch breaker.
The GE panel I have does take half breakers (aka tandem breakers or half inch breakers) - the only full size breakers I have are the 100a main and four 20a it came with, all others I added (3 double pole and several single pole) are half sized.

Last edited by vsheetz; 01-13-2010 at 03:28 AM.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 03:30 AM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,016
Default


Another thing I did in my workshop is to install another circuit feeding a few outlets in the ceiling - handy for dropping an extension cord or work light in a retractable reel.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 07:20 AM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


There isn't any real problem in "mixing" different Mfg panels
I was redoing a lot in my house & wanted to re-use all breakers
Plus I knew Square D was a good brand

My last house had a GE panel as a sub, Square D as the Main
Never had a problem



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 10:52 AM   #25
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 164
Rewards Points: 150
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by vsheetz View Post
The GE panel I have does take half breakers (aka tandem breakers or half inch breakers) - the only full size breakers I have are the 100a main and four 20a it came with, all others I added (3 double pole and several single pole) are half sized.
Now what I am about to ask makes logical since to me but I do want to confirm. The single pole half sized breakers, (taken literally in physical size) means to can put to in the spot where you would put a full size breaker?

I like the idea of adding some in the ceiling, smart thinking. That is going in my notes.

Thanks
canyonbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 10:53 AM   #26
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 164
Rewards Points: 150
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
There isn't any real problem in "mixing" different Mfg panels
I was redoing a lot in my house & wanted to re-use all breakers
Plus I knew Square D was a good brand

My last house had a GE panel as a sub, Square D as the Main
Never had a problem
Good to hear, good to hear.

Now I was up late last night and I thought I saw on one of the panels I think it was a Homeline Square D. Is this a style of panel or a manufacture?

Thanks,
Mike
canyonbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 10:55 AM   #27
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 164
Rewards Points: 150
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
You will need one at one of the exterior door any other location is optional.


As far for the breaker choice they are pretty good products

and you mention GE breakers they are ok to me

The single pole breaker is common use for 120 volt circuits
The double pole breaker can work either way as two 120 volt circuits aka MWBC or 120/240 volt useage or straght 240 volts

As vsheetz posted his link about the load centre that is GE load centre and that is 12 space panel full size only it will not take the half breaker aka tandem breakers or half inch breaker.

That is the other item you have to watch out when you slect smaller panels becarefull with the models they sell in big box store some are only rated for full sized breakers and some are rated to take tandem or half inch breakers depending on what model and manufacter it is.

Merci,Marc
Thank you, now I know to add that to the list too. Knowledge is key.
canyonbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 11:44 AM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,016
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by canyonbc View Post
Now what I am about to ask makes logical since to me but I do want to confirm. The single pole half sized breakers, (taken literally in physical size) means to can put to in the spot where you would put a full size breaker?

I like the idea of adding some in the ceiling, smart thinking. That is going in my notes.

Thanks
Yes, two breakers in the physical space of one. And it's not just limited to single pole breakers. I have three double pole breakers that are half sized.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 12:05 PM   #29
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 164
Rewards Points: 150
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by vsheetz View Post
Yes, two breakers in the physical space of one. And it's not just limited to single pole breakers. I have three double pole breakers that are half sized.
Man o Man.

Thank you for the knowledge, I feel like the more I know the more it gets confusing.

Going to go do a google search and the difference and why you would want to use a particular model - model being single pole vs double pole etc - unless anyone here wants to lay it out???
canyonbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 12:17 PM   #30
Inspector/Instructor
 
codeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 250
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by canyonbc View Post
Good to hear, good to hear.

Now I was up late last night and I thought I saw on one of the panels I think it was a Homeline Square D. Is this a style of panel or a manufacture?

Thanks,
Mike
Square D is the manufacture. Homeline is the model (style).
codeone is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Garage insulation - to replace or not, and related questions DaveinGA Remodeling 6 12-20-2009 10:25 AM
Garage Door Questions: closing sides and safety reversal jage Building & Construction 10 11-10-2009 07:57 AM
Insulation questions for new detached garage mpt1123 Building & Construction 2 03-01-2009 08:18 AM
Questions on Building apartment On top of existing detached garage nsxman2001 Building & Construction 4 12-16-2008 04:36 PM
New detached garage, wiring, questions gp_wa Electrical 9 12-04-2008 03:10 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts