Question About 220V Breaker For Outside Circuit - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree7Likes
  • 1 Post By chandler48
  • 1 Post By rjniles
  • 1 Post By LawnGuyLandSparky
  • 1 Post By chandler48
  • 3 Post By rjniles
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 04-23-2019, 11:11 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 31
Rewards Points: 62
Default

Question About 220V Breaker For Outside Circuit


Hello,

I am having a 220V circuit installed in my yard (for a pump) and I have a question about the required breaker(s). The pump contractor who installed the 4" x 4" post with sub-panel in my yard has indicated it will require 220V service using 10-3 direct burial (UF).

Once I go out and get quotes from the different electricians to install the 220V service, I'm wondering if a GFCI breaker required in the electrical panel in the basement? Or whether one is needed in the sub panel?

Basically I want to make sure that when I get my quotes, that each of the electricians are quoting apples to apples 'and' that it is done properly.

Thanks in advance!
Attached Thumbnails
Question About 220V Breaker For Outside Circuit-electrical-panel-question-220v.jpg  
gil_happy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-23-2019, 11:44 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,484
Rewards Points: 2,342
Default

Re: Question About 220V Breaker For Outside Circuit


Code wise, the GFCI protection is for the load so, it can go in the new panel or the original panel. It's usually more convenient to have it closest to the load. But a contractor may get the idea to GFCI the whole run from the original panel so they don't have to dig the cable as deep.



You might want to get the estimates for both scenarios.
LawnGuyLandSparky is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-24-2019, 05:03 AM   #3
Naildriver
 
chandler48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Young Harris, Georgia
Posts: 5,868
Rewards Points: 2,100
Default

Re: Question About 220V Breaker For Outside Circuit


What is the amperage draw of the pump, and will it be the only thing on the sub panel? The term "sub panel" indicates to me additional breaker capability. As mentioned the GFCI will be required, and it can be at either location. I would have opted for a GFCI breaker in the original panel protecting the entire run, with just a disconnect at the post. In addition, if it is truly a sub panel it will need a separate grounding rod. Pictures will help.
mpoulton likes this.
__________________
Larry......
Half of Communications is Listening, and You can't Listen with your Mouth.
chandler48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-24-2019, 05:54 AM   #4
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 9,445
Rewards Points: 362
Default

Re: Question About 220V Breaker For Outside Circuit


If the pump contractor is correct about requiring 10/3 UF cable you need a 2 pole 30 amp breaker in the main panel. Post the specs for the pump. Unless something in addition to the pump will be fed from this sub, you do not need a sub panel but merely a disconnect.
Sub panel feeds do not require GFCI protection. 240 volt circuits do not require GFCI either.

Sent from my RCT6213W22 using Tapatalk
jhil likes this.
__________________
My electrical answers are based on 2014 NEC, you may have local amendments.

Location: Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2019, 07:09 AM   #5
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 9,445
Rewards Points: 362
Default

Re: Question About 220V Breaker For Outside Circuit


Deleted double post
__________________
My electrical answers are based on 2014 NEC, you may have local amendments.

Location: Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2019, 07:21 AM   #6
wNCmountainCabin
 
NCmountainCabin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 64
Rewards Points: 126
Default

Re: Question About 220V Breaker For Outside Circuit


yep, same scenario for RV 50amp power service, which is 240v, with a double-pole breaker at the power pole - no GFCI needed...standard for Campgrounds and RV Parks.
NCmountainCabin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2019, 09:38 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 31
Rewards Points: 62
Default

Re: Question About 220V Breaker For Outside Circuit


LawnGuyLandSparky - thank you for this. It sounds like from others, a GFCI is not needed for a 240V circuit.

chandler48 - I think I may have misspoken... I think at the post it might be just a disconnect. As far as the draw of the pump, I'm not sure, but the pump contractor certainly knows this info.

rjniles - Thank you for the info. Unfortunately I believe I have misspoken - I think it is a disconnect at the pole.

NCmountainCabin - Great, thanks so much.
gil_happy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2019, 11:08 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,484
Rewards Points: 2,342
Default

Re: Question About 220V Breaker For Outside Circuit


Yup, I stand corrected. I thought your post said a GFCI breaker was needed, didn't realize it was assumed.
gil_happy likes this.
LawnGuyLandSparky is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2019, 04:19 PM   #9
Naildriver
 
chandler48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Young Harris, Georgia
Posts: 5,868
Rewards Points: 2,100
Default

Re: Question About 220V Breaker For Outside Circuit


The reason I mentioned GFCI protection is because we don't know what type pump he is powering. Is it a Hot tub pump, well pump, or effluent pump.
lenaitch likes this.
__________________
Larry......
Half of Communications is Listening, and You can't Listen with your Mouth.
chandler48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2019, 03:47 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 31
Rewards Points: 62
Default

Re: Question About 220V Breaker For Outside Circuit


Quote:
Originally Posted by chandler48 View Post
The reason I mentioned GFCI protection is because we don't know what type pump he is powering. Is it a Hot tub pump, well pump, or effluent pump.
My apologies... it is a grinder pump (for my new sewer connection to the city).

Thx
gil_happy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2019, 03:51 PM   #11
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 9,445
Rewards Points: 362
Default

Re: Question About 220V Breaker For Outside Circuit


Quote:
Originally Posted by gil_happy View Post
My apologies... it is a grinder pump (for my new sewer connection to the city).



Thx
No GFCI required.

Sent from my RCT6213W22 using Tapatalk
mpoulton, chandler48 and gil_happy like this.
__________________
My electrical answers are based on 2014 NEC, you may have local amendments.

Location: Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rjniles For This Useful Post:
gil_happy (04-26-2019)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Circuit Breaker Question Homey-Homeowner General DIY Discussions 2 05-05-2018 01:00 PM
Circuit Breaker Question Rik R. Electrical 3 02-23-2014 04:38 PM
Dimming lights on one circuit, GFCI breaker tripped boatman537 Electrical 4 06-05-2012 10:43 AM
Problem with circuit breaker. HELP! spartanic Electrical 2 10-28-2007 03:09 PM
New homeowner here...circuit breaker question fenway71 Electrical 7 01-18-2006 08:39 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts