Quality Of Outlets At HD - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-17-2015, 01:45 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 198

Quality of outlets at HD

Is their a brand that I should stay away from in order to get a quality outlet for my electric outlets? I see brands that I don't recognize on the web but I am not an electrician.

Also are there differences in quality in the best brand you recommend and how do you recognize those differences? TIA for you patience and answers.

Last edited by srloren; 10-17-2015 at 01:48 PM.
srloren is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-17-2015, 01:48 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 18,794

I use them all the time in the big contractor packs and never had one fail.
Advertisement

Old 10-17-2015, 01:58 PM   #3
Master Electrician

Rewards Points: 5,316

Leviton, Pass & Seymour, Cooper, Hubbel
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-17-2015, 02:38 PM   #4

Rewards Points: 402

Apparently, the "backstab" type are horrible. You want the kind where there are terminal screws for the wires or pigtails. Just repeating what all the electricians say on the sister forum to this site, they think the backstab is quite dangerous and should be illegal, and there's a lot of grousing that banning them would prevent a lot more fires than AFCIs.
Habeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2015, 10:06 PM   #5

Rewards Points: 1,428