Pulling New Wiring - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 06-13-2009, 08:43 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Pulling New Wiring


How do I get new wiring through this to put in new lighting in my stairwell?

Notch it?



Thanks

Last edited by skyhigh82; 06-13-2009 at 08:48 AM.
skyhigh82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-13-2009, 09:09 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 2,487
Rewards Points: 2,350
Default


Carve a groove big enough for the cable, then protect its whole length with nail plates.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-13-2009, 09:56 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: South Western Ontario
Posts: 955
Rewards Points: 500
Default


The right hand end near the corner shows an offset for the 2 x 10, is there a hollow spot behind it or is it snug to another 2 x 10 behind? Is there enough space to feed between
Chemist1961 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-13-2009, 10:04 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default


It's


snug to the 2x10...no space. Butts up against 2x4 running perpendicular to it.

Last edited by skyhigh82; 06-13-2009 at 10:13 AM.
skyhigh82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2009, 10:15 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 2,487
Rewards Points: 2,350
Default


Oh, well... In that case, carve a groove big enough to lay the wire in and protect its whole length with mail plates.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2009, 10:19 AM   #6
Journeyman Wireman
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Portland, OR USA
Posts: 196
Rewards Points: 150
Default


Drill through them using an 18" long 1/2" augur bit. That size hole will take 1 cable. Or use a 7/8" augur bit if you have 2 cables to run.
Jupe Blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2009, 10:26 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Only need to run 1 wire for now but while I'm here going to run 2...you never know
skyhigh82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2009, 06:10 PM   #8
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,571
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default


Carve a groove and nail plates. Wait... somebody already said that.
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2009, 06:23 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default




Thanks....this is what it did
skyhigh82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring diagram for three-way switches with pilot light SaxTeacher Electrical 34 09-15-2013 07:53 AM
electric wiring in house remodel wis_remod Electrical 6 04-02-2009 02:40 PM
New Home Wiring - Seeking Expert Advice Dirtrnr Electrical 3 02-10-2009 10:33 AM
Replacing wiring in middle of run, ungrounded lighting circuit alexz Electrical 3 07-05-2007 08:53 PM
Knob & Tube wiring - How concerned should we be? hotdiggitydog Electrical 6 04-11-2006 07:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts