Problems With Fluorescent Garage Lighting Problem - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 07-25-2010, 01:36 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Update - still have a problem


Guys,

Thanks for the responses. I had a ballast go out this weekend. So, I ripped out the lighting, took it back to the store, and went back to 2 incondescent bulbs. Back to the drawing board.

I need better garage lighting. What are your recommendations?

Do you guys think the lighting I had was bad, or do you think it was something with my wiring? I don't see anything wrong with the ground or neutral wires at the panel. If I decide to try fluorescent lights again, how can I troubleshoot my wiring? I do have a multimeter, but truthfully don't know much about how to use it. I'm handy enough to wire the lights, have wired many circuits, etc., but don't really understand how to troubleshoot it. Any help would be appreciated.

Could have my issues been because I used the high output 8' lights? Would I be better off trying the 4' hanging strip lights that plug into an outlet (I'd keep the incondescent lights for general lighting and use the strip lights as work lights)?

Thanks,

Troy
tsherv is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-26-2010, 01:26 AM   #17
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


If you still want the High Output luminaire my best suggest is go to the electrical supply centre they will have good products there.

Otherwise you can get the 4 lamp 8 foot strip luminaire { that will be electronic ballast verison and it will be very quiet as well } that will use T-8 bulbs { it is a common item nowdays }

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-27-2010, 07:08 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by tsherv View Post
how can I troubleshoot my wiring?
Plug a 10 A 120v load [iron, hair dryer, toaster] in any outlet. Measure the 120 V from the neutral to both hots at the panel.
If the voltage increases on either hot when you turn on the load you have a bad neutral.

If the voltage at the outlet decreases by more than 3 v when you turn on the load you likely have a bad upstream connection.

If you don't want to remove the panel cover an elec. dryer outlet with the dryer off can be used as voltage sensing leads for the panel.

Last edited by Yoyizit; 07-27-2010 at 07:14 PM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Garage subpanel installation - EMT ScottR Electrical 26 06-11-2009 12:53 PM
Electrical problem in garage ginaca Electrical 10 04-19-2009 06:51 PM
Strange Garage Door Opener Problem mnewmanfla General DIY Discussions 6 03-20-2009 06:36 AM
Circuit Problems - Garage DisturbedPanda Electrical 9 08-03-2007 09:23 PM
Moisture problems when 'heating only when needed' in insulated garage? timg HVAC 10 01-18-2007 05:38 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts