Problem With Breakers In Panel Box - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 03-19-2010, 04:30 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Problem with breakers in panel box


My 7,11 and 15 breakers in the shop are working fine, but the 5,9 and 13 breakers on the same side are not working. This shop is fed from a 60amp breaker from my house to a 60amp breaker in the shop on the right side of the panel. What is the problem?
fishersd327 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-19-2010, 04:34 PM   #2
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,413
Rewards Points: 5,082
Default


Assuming they're full size breakers and not tandems it sounds as if you've lost a leg of your feed. Are all of the even numbered breakers fully functional?
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to brric For This Useful Post:
fishersd327 (03-19-2010)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-19-2010, 04:52 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
Assuming they're full size breakers and not tandems it sounds as if you've lost a leg of your feed. Are all of the even numbered breakers fully functional?
The 5-13 breakers are all 20amp Cutler-Hammer breakers. Only thing on even side is the than 60amp main breaker
fishersd327 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-19-2010, 05:43 PM   #4
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,571
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default


Like brric said, you have lost one hot leg to the panel. Do you have any way to test for voltage (meter, test light)?
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2010, 06:02 PM   #5
Master Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,453
Rewards Points: 506
Default


You've lost power to the left busbar of the panel. Try resetting both 60A breakers. If 5, 9 & 13 come back alive, investigate as to what could have caused the 'leg' to be lost.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2010, 06:05 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Is this a new sub or it was working & suddenly stopped ?

Shut power off to the sub & tighten down the hot feeds
Check the breaker in the main panel & make sure hots are secure



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Main Panel / Service Upgrades gbe Electrical 12 11-06-2009 11:20 PM
100 -> 200 amp panel upgrade questions philipjcaputo Electrical 1 10-30-2009 03:35 AM
Passing wire to another panel theatretch85 Electrical 5 09-20-2009 11:09 PM
Moving several circuits to sub panel WoodworkerDave Electrical 2 09-27-2008 02:05 PM
turn main panel into a sub panel? tikicarver Electrical 2 01-24-2008 07:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts