Probably Not, Right? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 07-20-2010, 10:36 AM   #1
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Probably not, right?


If I glued the plastic back together, I don't think the inspector would pass it....

Does anyone know where and how much it might be to replace just this part?
Square-D Load Center.

Thanks!

DM
Attached Thumbnails
Probably not, right?-square-d.jpg  
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-20-2010, 11:11 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 8,150
Rewards Points: 946
Default


Buy the same panel and replace the guts.
Might not work if a much older panel.
__________________
Yes I am a pirate, two hundred years too late
The cannons don't thunder, there's nothing to plunder
I'm an over-forty victim of fate.
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-20-2010, 11:25 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,275
Rewards Points: 202
Default


I wouldn't worry about the inspector in this case. Think of yourself, or the next person to come along, and don't try to repair it; replace it. You may be able to find a local contractor who has a good used one, but not real likely, and rather than waiting for a special order, given the price difference, I agree with simply buying a new panel, and switching it over. Just remember that the torque on those things is marked in inch/pounds, not foot/pounds. :-)
DexterII is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-20-2010, 11:30 AM   #4
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


I didn't do it, I got it used and found it this way. I DID just have the idea of calling Habitat for Humanity ReStore and asking them if they have panels. I'm sure they will, so I'll let ya know. But 200-300 for a new panel just don't fit our budget. (with the 3 afcis)

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2010, 11:31 AM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 8,150
Rewards Points: 946
Default


an empty panel should cost less than $100.

HD and Lowes sell panels with breakers for $100.
__________________
Yes I am a pirate, two hundred years too late
The cannons don't thunder, there's nothing to plunder
I'm an over-forty victim of fate.
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2010, 12:01 PM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 7,828
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default


That looks like a QO 100A main lug panel. About $50-$60 bucks.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2010, 12:14 PM   #7
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


It says it's a 125a, is that OK for my 100a existing system?

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2010, 12:33 PM   #8
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 12,405
Rewards Points: 3,654
Default


The 125 rating is the maximum that the panel can be used with. Any lower ampacity is fine.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
DangerMouse (07-20-2010)
Old 07-20-2010, 12:46 PM   #9
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Thought so, thanks. Po)

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2010, 12:49 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,275
Rewards Points: 202
Default


Restore is actually not a bad idea, although, based on my experience, if it's not too far away, you might be better off to just drive there, and look for yourself. The volunteers all mean well, but sometimes I have found them to not be the most knowledgable.
DexterII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2010, 12:55 PM   #11
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Yeah, but Joe's a friend of mine.... Po)

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts