Potlights Wiring - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 02-04-2010, 10:51 PM   #1
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

potlights wiring


I have 4 potlights for the basement, would like to operate them with 1 switch only, my question is about the wiring, how to connect them together without blowing up the"hood" thanks
wilson luna is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-04-2010, 10:59 PM   #2
Professional Wood Shafter
 
ryanh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 188
Rewards Points: 154
Default


Blowing up the Hood !? Don't get it. But you just wire them in series from one to the next. Use 14/2
ryanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-04-2010, 11:14 PM   #3
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

potlights wiring


Thanks Ryanh for your quick response, I have very little knowledge about electrical stuff, could you elaborate about the wire connections. I meant I don't want to blow up the neighbourhood.
wilson luna is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-04-2010, 11:15 PM   #4
E-lec-tri-city
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 165
Rewards Points: 150
Send a message via ICQ to brons2 Send a message via AIM to brons2 Send a message via MSN to brons2 Send a message via Yahoo to brons2
Default


white to white, black to black, ground to ground pretty much. when you get to the last light just connect that light only. Use wire nuts if your pots don't include connectors. My pots had Romex quick-connectors in the box so I didn't need anything other than pliers and a wire stripper. I'm adding 24(!!) pots in my house as part of my current project. I hate how dark it is in my place and I am making sure that it will never be a problem again.
brons2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 10:56 AM   #5
Professional Wood Shafter
 
ryanh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 188
Rewards Points: 154
Default


Ya most pot lights now have the quick connectors . just match them up
ryanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 11:02 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: central virginia mountains
Posts: 1,857
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default


pull a single run of 14-2 from swich to first light then from that light to next etc. connect as stated above
__________________
The older I get the better I was
tpolk is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring diagram for three-way switches with pilot light SaxTeacher Electrical 34 09-15-2013 07:53 AM
Cloth Wiring - Replace? JessicaGus Electrical 9 09-23-2009 06:45 PM
electric wiring in house remodel wis_remod Electrical 6 04-02-2009 02:40 PM
New Home Wiring - Seeking Expert Advice Dirtrnr Electrical 3 02-10-2009 10:33 AM
Knob & Tube wiring - How concerned should we be? hotdiggitydog Electrical 6 04-11-2006 07:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts