Possible Violation- 2 Cables In Single Clamp? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-29-2010, 12:49 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 97

possible violation- 2 cables in single clamp?

my main panel has two 12-2 w/grnd romex cables going through a single 1/2" knockout fitted with a single cable clamp. this is NOT a "Y" type clamp which has two channels merging into a single hole.

a. is this a violation of NEC
b. if this situation were to exist at a switch box, will that be a vioaltion?

thanks.

PS this may have been answered somewhere but i could not find it.
drgkjd is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-29-2010, 01:42 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 75

I'm no expert. I've read the Canada code book and you can't have two wires in one knockout in a box, I can't imaging it would be any different for the panel, that's why they have all those knockouts.
Troglodyte is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Troglodyte For This Useful Post:
drgkjd (05-29-2010)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-29-2010, 03:02 AM   #3
" Euro " electrician

Rewards Points: 2,000

Quote:
Originally Posted by drgkjd View Post
my main panel has two 12-2 w/grnd romex cables going through a single 1/2" knockout fitted with a single cable clamp. this is NOT a "Y" type clamp which has two channels merging into a single hole.

a. is this a violation of NEC
b. if this situation were to exist at a switch box, will that be a vioaltion?

thanks.

PS this may have been answered somewhere but i could not find it.
two NM cable thru the half inch KO's I have see that pretty often but the very important part is look at the cable clamp listing some will only listed for one cable not two cables.

to answer your two question