Pool Pump Switch - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 05-06-2014, 11:16 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Poquoson VA
Posts: 108
Rewards Points: 79
Default

Pool Pump Switch


Daugter's pol pump switch went South, husband TDY, Village Idiot to the rescue. Single throw switch, two load and two line screws, had no power on output side. Went to hardware store with old switch and bought a new one, installed and Voila the pump works, However, she the switch is hot in both on and off position. As they say down South, I need HEP.

The Village Idiot
vabear is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-06-2014, 11:36 AM   #2
Rob
 
Robpo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Spring Creek NV
Posts: 1,036
Rewards Points: 826
Default


Just a guess but it sounds like a defective switch to me because even if you hooked line to line and load to load it wouldn't run. Would like to know myself.
Robpo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-06-2014, 02:55 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Poquoson VA
Posts: 108
Rewards Points: 79
Default

Pump Switch


I am totally confused. If I hook both black wires to load on the switch, can I then wire nut the two white wires together without attaching to the switch?
vabear is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-06-2014, 03:53 PM   #4
Rob
 
Robpo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Spring Creek NV
Posts: 1,036
Rewards Points: 826
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by vabear View Post
I am totally confused. If I hook both black wires to load on the switch, can I then wire nut the two white wires together without attaching to the switch?
Oh. I see what you mean. I am confused too. Depending on the type of switch it is, most switches like light switches use the black wire to control the switch and the white attached together. Some switches like a flow switch use the whites to the switch and the blacks get attached. I forget. I will let some one else answer this.
Robpo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2014, 03:56 PM   #5
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,655
Rewards Points: 2,970
Default


Did you buy a four way switch?
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2014, 06:10 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Poquoson VA
Posts: 108
Rewards Points: 79
Default

Pool Pump Switch


Beats the C*** out of me. All I know is it has four screws for electrcial leads, two marked line and two marked load, and I have the hot wires on the load posts, and white wires on line posts. She works, albeit all the time with power to the switch but you cannot turn her off with the switch, must flip breaker.

Electrical Journeyman coming tomorrow, I will let you know what I find out.
vabear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2014, 06:24 PM   #7
Rob
 
Robpo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Spring Creek NV
Posts: 1,036
Rewards Points: 826
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by vabear View Post
Beats the C*** out of me. All I know is it has four screws for electrcial leads, two marked line and two marked load, and I have the hot wires on the load posts, and white wires on line posts. She works, albeit all the time with power to the switch but you cannot turn her off with the switch, must flip breaker.

Electrical Journeyman coming tomorrow, I will let you know what I find out.
I might have this wrong but aren't the wires coming from the source line and the wires going to the pool load.
Robpo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2014, 01:09 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Poquoson VA
Posts: 108
Rewards Points: 79
Default

Switch to Pool Pump


Well before we called the electrician wanted to try moving wires on switch around. Here where we are at, regardless of where the wires are located, the pump runs in alll postions of the switch (Off or On), however the pump will stop with the switch in the mid-way between On and Off.

I know it is five O'Clock somewhere.
vabear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2014, 03:51 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Poquoson VA
Posts: 108
Rewards Points: 79
Default

Pool Pump Switch


Is there such a thing as a three position, (top and bottom both on) center position off switch?
vabear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2014, 11:37 PM   #10
Member
 
dmxtothemax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Brisbane, Australia.
Posts: 5,392
Rewards Points: 7,742
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by vabear View Post
Is there such a thing as a three position, (top and bottom both on) center position off switch?
Very rare ! but yes they do exist !

Tell us more about
1- the wires,
2-their colors,
3- and where they go on the switch,
ie which terminals they go to ?
4-How many terminals are on the switch
& do they have any color ?
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 05:52 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Poquoson VA
Posts: 108
Rewards Points: 79
Default

Pool Pump Switch


And pricey. Yup we have one single pole double throw and center neutral.

Thanks.
vabear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 08:14 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: IL
Posts: 1,484
Rewards Points: 1,306
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by vabear
Beats the C*** out of me. All I know is it has four screws for electrcial leads, two marked line and two marked load, and I have the hot wires on the load posts, and white wires on line posts. She works, albeit all the time with power to the switch but you cannot turn her off with the switch, must flip breaker. Electrical Journeyman coming tomorrow, I will let you know what I find out.
Sounds like you put in a 4 way switch. If you consider the line side terminals L1 and L2 and the load terminals O1 and O2 then this switch has two states. In one state L1 is connected to O1 and L2 is connected to O2. In the other position (state) L1 is connected to O2 and L2 to O1. As you can see it is always connected. Not useful for an off on application for switching two lines.

You need a UL listed DPDT switch for the voltage and current in question.

http://www.zoro.com/g/00154213/k-G05...FeRlOgoddBQAUw

Last edited by curiousB; 05-08-2014 at 08:18 AM.
curiousB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2014, 06:43 AM   #13
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,145
Rewards Points: 516
Default


is it 240 volts or 120 volts ....LOL
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2014, 07:10 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Poquoson VA
Posts: 108
Rewards Points: 79
Default

pool Pump Switch


Village idiot back.

Well we are surviving with the weird switch, and yes she has four posts as the position Neutral.
Thanks for the Hep (as we say down South).
vabear is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replaced 12amp sump pump switch with 15amp switch? chaz7979 Plumbing 2 03-11-2013 03:38 PM
Pool Pump Bonding Question phxhomeowner Electrical 7 09-17-2012 01:46 PM
Intermittent submersible pump fault esquilax Electrical 5 09-30-2011 03:56 AM
fan/light switch buzzing mjlocat Electrical 4 05-23-2010 02:44 PM
20 amp GFCI breaker pops when pool pump is turned on. jagrunner Electrical 11 03-19-2010 04:31 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts