Plug Problems In The House. - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 07-05-2009, 07:40 PM   #1
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

plug problems in the house.


Hi,

i just moved into my new house.

i had an electrician come by and switch the plugs for me before he changed them i tested each one witha pen tester to see if it works and all of them have been working.

he changed the plugs but 2 are nto working idk why and i cant get a hold of him anymore and i got no more moeny to spend wondering if you guys can help me


heres the problem

2 plugs in the kitchen are under double pole 15 amp breakers they both have ground which is ont he ground screw and have 1 hot wire whihc si on the blakc screw atm and 1 red wire whihc is under the black screw and a neutral whihc is under the white screw.
panel says they are "split"

when you turn on the breakers it keeps tripping.

whats the problem?
Ivancar1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-05-2009, 07:42 PM   #2
Licensed Electrician
 
Magnettica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Rahway, NJ
Posts: 168
Rewards Points: 150
Send a message via Yahoo to Magnettica
Default


Unlicensed electrician?

Illegal immigrant worked there?
__________________
Union County, NJ, Licensed Electrician
Classic Electric, LLC, Rahway, New Jersey
Magnettica is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-05-2009, 07:43 PM   #3
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default


I ahve no clue i found him under the "Yellow Pages" i already called the goverment to report him but they still ahve not done anyhting
Ivancar1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-05-2009, 07:48 PM   #4
Licensed Electrician
 
Magnettica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Rahway, NJ
Posts: 168
Rewards Points: 150
Send a message via Yahoo to Magnettica
Default


Well if he was in the Yellow Pages he was likely licensed unless you're in a state that doesn't require licensing.

The problem you describe tells me you have what's called a multiwire branch circuit, which is fine, but the electrician apparently forgot to remove the tab that bridges the circuit on the receptacle.

The black is one circuit, the red is another circuit, and they share a common neutral.

What it sounds like you need to do is break the tab that bridges the black and red. BUT DON'T DO THIS ON THE WHITE NEUTRAL SIDE.
__________________
Union County, NJ, Licensed Electrician
Classic Electric, LLC, Rahway, New Jersey
Magnettica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2009, 07:48 PM   #5
Licensed Electrician
 
Magnettica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Rahway, NJ
Posts: 168
Rewards Points: 150
Send a message via Yahoo to Magnettica
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ivancar1 View Post
I ahve no clue i found him under the "Yellow Pages" i already called the goverment to report him but they still ahve not done anyhting
Oh... what a shock!
__________________
Union County, NJ, Licensed Electrician
Classic Electric, LLC, Rahway, New Jersey
Magnettica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2009, 07:50 PM   #6
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Magnettica View Post
Well if he was in the Yellow Pages he was likely licensed unless you're in a state that doesn't require licensing.

The problem you describe tells me you have what's called a multiwire branch circuit, which is fine, but the electrician apparently forgot to remove the tab that bridges the circuit on the receptacle.

The black is one circuit, the red is another circuit, and they share a common neutral.

What it sounds like you need to do is break the tab that bridges the black and red. BUT DON'T DO THIS ON THE WHITE NEUTRAL SIDE.

Ok can u explain to me how to do this step by step please?

Right now i have a plug sticking out actually 2 plugs that are not working

they both have

a ground on them
1 neutral on white screw
1 hot on black screw
1 red on black screw


what would i need to do?
Ivancar1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2009, 07:58 PM   #7
Licensed Electrician
 
Magnettica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Rahway, NJ
Posts: 168
Rewards Points: 150
Send a message via Yahoo to Magnettica
Default


First, make sure the circuit breaker is off which im sure it is since you're here asking for help.

Next, undo the black wire from the terminal, then do the same for the red.

Next, take a pair a side cutters and cut out the copper tab that "bridges" the red and black wires on the receptacle together.

Put the wires back as they were, re-energize the circuit.

I'll be back in 60 minutes. Ice Road Truckers is starting.
__________________
Union County, NJ, Licensed Electrician
Classic Electric, LLC, Rahway, New Jersey
Magnettica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2009, 08:00 PM   #8
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default


ok the copper tab is found on the plug right?
Ivancar1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2009, 08:13 PM   #9
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 12,628
Rewards Points: 3,740
Default


I believe from the description of the problems that the OP is in Canada.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2009, 08:18 PM   #10
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 19,780
Rewards Points: 30,876
Blog Entries: 11
Default


The tab is on the hot (gold) side of the receptacle and joins the two gold screws together. In this case with a split receptacle the tab needs to be removed ONLY ON THE GOLD screw side.
An electrician or would have known to cut the tab.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2009, 08:42 PM   #11
Licensed Electrician
 
Magnettica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Rahway, NJ
Posts: 168
Rewards Points: 150
Send a message via Yahoo to Magnettica
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
The tab is on the hot (gold) side of the receptacle and joins the two gold screws together. In this case with a split receptacle the tab needs to be removed ONLY ON THE GOLD screw side.
An electrician or would have known to cut the tab.
__________________
Union County, NJ, Licensed Electrician
Classic Electric, LLC, Rahway, New Jersey
Magnettica is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
200 Amp service really needed for a 830 sq ft house? overkill? alexz Electrical 7 11-16-2009 05:54 PM
Unpolarised US Type 2 Plug to UK Plug. razorcut Electrical 19 05-18-2009 09:49 AM
Concrete roof on house... problems!! flipjarg Roofing/Siding 6 01-24-2009 10:06 PM
EXcessive moisture in house geema HVAC 5 09-10-2008 11:18 AM
Complete AC installation in Old Capitol Hill Row House jacko10 HVAC 0 09-18-2007 05:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts