PC Keeps Tripping Breaker - LOSING MY MIND! - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 03-18-2016, 02:50 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 28
Default

Re: PC Keeps Tripping Breaker - LOSING MY MIND!


Quote:
Originally Posted by Pharon View Post
No. Double conversion UPS's are typically more expensive than line interactive or standby UPS's. But there's a good reason for that.
Okay, that's fine. I'll see if I can squeeze a few bux out of the hookers n' blow fund. Thanks.
tenebrousabyss is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-18-2016, 02:51 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 17,158
Rewards Points: 6,652
Default

Re: PC Keeps Tripping Breaker - LOSING MY MIND!


Quote:
Originally Posted by Pharon View Post
No. Double conversion UPS's are typically more expensive than line interactive or standby UPS's. But there's a good reason for that.
Not really. I have a Tripplite and a APC that I got brand new for under $200. I use the Tripplite for my A/V equipment and the APC for my network equipment. I have had no issues with either one handling problems.



gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-18-2016, 02:52 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 17,158
Rewards Points: 6,652
Default

Re: PC Keeps Tripping Breaker - LOSING MY MIND!


Quote:
Originally Posted by jreagan View Post
Maybe a UPC like CyberPower or others? That should give you some isolation and conditioning.

I use one of these: https://www.cyberpowersystems.com/pr...p/cp1500pfclcd
I would not touch Cyber Power crap if my life depended on it. APC & Tripplite is the best to go with.



gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-18-2016, 02:59 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 249
Rewards Points: 422
Default

Re: PC Keeps Tripping Breaker - LOSING MY MIND!


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Not really. I have a Tripplite and a APC that I got brand new for under $200. I use the Tripplite for my A/V equipment and the APC for my network equipment. I have had no issues with either one handling problems.
What models do you have?
Pharon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2016, 03:52 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: FSJ Canada
Posts: 85
Rewards Points: 62
Default


Yeah, a good UPS should fix the problem. Or have a brand new dedicated receptacle on a standard 15A breaker installed. Or on the more grey area side, just swap the breaker out for a standard 15A
psgama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2016, 05:31 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,512
Rewards Points: 1,832
Default

Re: PC Keeps Tripping Breaker - LOSING MY MIND!


Id call the landlord and explain the issue before shelling out my money because the manufactures first shelled out cash at the CMP meetings.
Jump-start is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2016, 06:33 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Perris, CA
Posts: 208
Rewards Points: 299
Default

Re: PC Keeps Tripping Breaker - LOSING MY MIND!


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
How do you know the circuit is not overloaded? What is the amp draw on the circuit?
If it's a 15 amp circuit it could just be a simple overload. I'm sure you know this but a computer under heavy load (you mention this happens when you start up a game or do other intensive tasks) will consume several hundred watts more than a computer at idle.
Syberia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2016, 07:04 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,512
Rewards Points: 1,832
Default

Re: PC Keeps Tripping Breaker - LOSING MY MIND!


Quote:
Originally Posted by Syberia View Post
If it's a 15 amp circuit it could just be a simple overload. I'm sure you know this but a computer under heavy load (you mention this happens when you start up a game or do other intensive tasks) will consume several hundred watts more than a computer at idle.

It could be, but AFCIs are also current sensitive as well. Series arc fault analysis starts at around 5 amps and current waveform can change as equipment is put under load. Switch mode power supplies are notorious for high frequency ripple that resembles lab created dangerous arcing.
Jump-start is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2016, 11:18 PM   #24
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 28
Default

Re: PC Keeps Tripping Breaker - LOSING MY MIND!


Quote:
Originally Posted by Syberia View Post
If it's a 15 amp circuit it could just be a simple overload. I'm sure you know this but a computer under heavy load (you mention this happens when you start up a game or do other intensive tasks) will consume several hundred watts more than a computer at idle.
Just tested with a kill-a-watt meter. Under full load, 2.65 Amps & 315 Watts.

No way it's tripping a 15A breaker.
tenebrousabyss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2016, 11:19 PM   #25
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 28
Default

Re: PC Keeps Tripping Breaker - LOSING MY MIND!


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jump-start View Post
It could be, but AFCIs are also current sensitive as well. Series arc fault analysis starts at around 5 amps and current waveform can change as equipment is put under load. Switch mode power supplies are notorious for high frequency ripple that resembles lab created dangerous arcing.
My PC draws far less than 5 amps.
tenebrousabyss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2016, 11:19 PM   #26
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 28
Default

Re: PC Keeps Tripping Breaker - LOSING MY MIND!


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jump-start View Post
Id call the landlord and explain the issue before shelling out my money because the manufactures first shelled out cash at the CMP meetings.
The landlord refuses to do anything about it because "everything else works fine for everyone else, so it's your problem."
tenebrousabyss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2016, 12:31 AM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: FSJ Canada
Posts: 85
Rewards Points: 62
Default

Re: PC Keeps Tripping Breaker - LOSING MY MIND!


Actually, I just thought of one more option for you that may actually work,

Grab an extension cord and coil it up in nice round tight coils. Plug your computer power bar into that. The coil will act as line inductance and should cut back some of the harmonics created by your computers switching power supply.

If it works you can thank me for saving your sanity. :p
psgama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2016, 12:39 AM   #28
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 28
Default

Re: PC Keeps Tripping Breaker - LOSING MY MIND!


Quote:
Originally Posted by psgama View Post
Actually, I just thought of one more option for you that may actually work,

Grab an extension cord and coil it up in nice round tight coils. Plug your computer power bar into that. The coil will act as line inductance and should cut back some of the harmonics created by your computers switching power supply.

If it works you can thank me for saving your sanity. :p
That's really interesting. I will give that a try and report back.
tenebrousabyss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2016, 12:45 AM   #29
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,512
Rewards Points: 1,832
Default

Re: PC Keeps Tripping Breaker - LOSING MY MIND!


Quote:
Originally Posted by tenebrousabyss View Post
My PC draws far less than 5 amps.

Id imagine, but lights and other loads on the same circuit add to that. The AFCI is only interested in a current threshold plus a particular high frequency current ripple. Given the right combination of loads the AFCI will be fooled into seeing a dangerous arc fault.


Quote:
Originally Posted by tenebrousabyss View Post
The landlord refuses to do anything about it because "everything else works fine for everyone else, so it's your problem."

Sounds like its his way of saying "I dont want to spend any money on my property to solve a potential problem so Id rather you because in the end its more profit for me" For all we know there could actually be a real fault in the circuit that requires attention from a professional.


Unfortunately landlords are known to brush off responsibility. We've had landlords on here where an open neutral existed with smoking electronics trying to find any excuse not to send out an electrician despite their own rental property being an immediate fire risk. I had a landlord years back who refused to fix a leaking hot water heater because "it worked fine before" "dont worry about it then" only to have him come take it out of my security deposit along with the water damage it did when it burst 3 months latter. Come housing court the judge ruled in my favor because he had neglected to send out a repair man when it first started leaking. Reality is your landlord has a duty to send out an electrician or at minimum a maintenance guy to check things out. A breaker is tripping. You assume its your PC as a lay person in electricity. (no offense ) You admit to do nothing wrong or intentional. Thats enough to signal something needs to be repaired or checked out.


Id fight to have the landlord take responsibility because its not fair that you as a hard working person (who did nothing wrong) having to spend money on a double whammy; something that might not fix the problem to begin with while being entirely in the hands of what the property owner is obligated to do. And the fact AFCIs have a long history of nuisance tripping with many professionals holding the opinion they should not have been mandated in the R&D stage.
Jump-start is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2016, 12:53 AM   #30
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 3,376
Rewards Points: 3,652
Default

Re: PC Keeps Tripping Breaker - LOSING MY MIND!


Quote:
Originally Posted by psgama View Post
Actually, I just thought of one more option for you that may actually work,

Grab an extension cord and coil it up in nice round tight coils. Plug your computer power bar into that. The coil will act as line inductance and should cut back some of the harmonics created by your computers switching power supply.

If it works you can thank me for saving your sanity. :p
That actually does not form an inductor. Since both conductors are travelling parallel to each other in the cable, there is no net current flow through the cable and therefore no net current flow through your coil of cord, and no magnetic field. You would need to make a coil of ONE single wire, and insert it in series with the load in order to add inductance. Would take an awfully big coil of wire to produce enough inductance to affect a 60Hz circuit noticeably.
__________________
I am a lawyer, but not your lawyer. And who cares anyways? We're here to talk construction. This is DIY advice, not legal advice.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to mpoulton For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (03-19-2016)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heat Pump Help! Swapped Contactor, now tripping breaker!!! trifecta50 HVAC 74 02-13-2015 10:00 AM
AFCI breaker tripping in laundry room esahlin Electrical 11 11-27-2014 08:40 AM
Tripping breaker drjay9051 Electrical 5 09-08-2012 03:17 PM
One breaker tripping another armisjam Electrical 12 03-09-2012 09:43 PM
Tripping Wrong Breaker [email protected] Electrical 15 03-28-2008 02:47 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts