Panel Label - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 08-17-2014, 03:48 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

panel label


Hey guys,

I have a panel that has a 15amp breaker that is labeled V.A.C. any opinions on what this is for, I've had it switched off for a week and no one has noticed anything.
thomasp is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-17-2014, 04:00 PM   #2
DIYer/PoleMonkey
 
clw1963's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: So Calif
Posts: 1,280
Rewards Points: 262
Default


Why??
clw1963 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-17-2014, 04:16 PM   #3
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 8,974
Rewards Points: 1,844
Default


VAC may mean Vacant or spare.
Or, do you have a whole house vacuum system.
Oso954 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Oso954 For This Useful Post:
thomasp (08-17-2014)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-17-2014, 04:23 PM   #4
Member
 
dmxtothemax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Brisbane, Australia.
Posts: 5,447
Rewards Points: 7,852
Default


V a c = vacant.
dmxtothemax is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2014, 04:23 PM   #5
DIYer/PoleMonkey
 
clw1963's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: So Calif
Posts: 1,280
Rewards Points: 262
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Oso954 View Post
VAC may mean Vacant or spare.
Or, do you have a whole house vacuum system.
This seems like another nebulous question that's been asked this weekend. Why would you shut a breaker off if you don't know what it's for?
clw1963 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2014, 04:36 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by clw1963 View Post
This seems like another nebulous question that's been asked this weekend. Why would you shut a breaker off if you don't know what it's for?
To find out if I need it, I followed the line and it ends at the main floor floor.....thisis the first step of finding it, I don't have a circuit finder yet.
thomasp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2014, 04:44 PM   #7
DIYer/PoleMonkey
 
clw1963's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: So Calif
Posts: 1,280
Rewards Points: 262
Default

panel label


Ends where? Again why shut it off and leave it off if you don't know? If it was on and not causing problems, why shut it off if it may go to something important? You might try a working house lamp or hair dryer or anything to plug and compare outlets before and after. But, I still question the question.

Last edited by clw1963; 08-17-2014 at 04:50 PM.
clw1963 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2014, 04:56 PM   #8
DIYer/PoleMonkey
 
clw1963's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: So Calif
Posts: 1,280
Rewards Points: 262
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by thomasp View Post
Hey guys,

I have a panel that has a 15amp breaker that is labeled V.A.C. any opinions on what this is for, I've had it switched off for a week and no one has noticed anything.
Send a picture
clw1963 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2014, 08:12 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,045
Rewards Points: 1,910
Default


Probably just your freezer. Keep it off and you'll know in a few days.
jogr is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jogr For This Useful Post:
clw1963 (08-17-2014)
Old 08-17-2014, 08:33 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,512
Rewards Points: 1,832
Default


VAC. That's actually a good question. I have seen that before. My best guess is a central vacuum system or attic fan.
Jump-start is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jump-start For This Useful Post:
thomasp (08-17-2014)
Old 08-17-2014, 08:47 PM   #11
DIYer/PoleMonkey
 
clw1963's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: So Calif
Posts: 1,280
Rewards Points: 262
Default


Or it's on the breaker itself. Rating.
clw1963 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2014, 09:09 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default


]

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jump-start View Post
VAC. That's actually a good question. I have seen that before. My best guess is a central vacuum system or attic fan.
Thanks for a constructive response...I'll look into that.
thomasp is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sub panel to sub panel feeding tvfd27 Electrical 1 08-21-2012 03:01 PM
Section 310.15(B)(6) vs. 210.4. Don't assume, call your friendly AHJs! Daneel Electrical 3 04-11-2012 07:24 AM
Garage Sub Panel Questions mscanlon01 Electrical 3 07-20-2011 10:03 AM
Installing new (service?) breaker panel and generator panel Nhrafan Electrical 6 04-01-2008 03:03 PM
turn main panel into a sub panel? tikicarver Electrical 2 01-24-2008 07:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts