Outlet For Over-Range Microwave - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 04-20-2010, 06:51 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: West Central Ohio
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 27
Default

Outlet for Over-Range Microwave


I'm curious as to the best location for the outlet for an over-range microwave. I figured putting the outlet above the cabinets would be a good place, and then just run the power cord up through the cabinet, but I want to get your opinions as well.
sbazzle is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-20-2010, 07:09 AM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 12,413
Rewards Points: 3,662
Default


Normally I just place the receptacle in the lower right corner of the cabinet.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-20-2010, 08:24 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 608
Rewards Points: 500
Default


Our microwave outlet is IN the cabinet above the microwave as well.

I like the idea of getting it totally out of the way, assuming that the cabinets are so tall that you can not see it. However, my only personal concern is the hole you would have to make to get to the top of the cabinet. That hole becomes an entry way for "stuff" (dust if nothing else). The hole has to be big enough to fit a three prong plug, and remain open in some fashion to allow swapping the microwave out in the future.

Perhaps a better placement would be near inside the cabinet, but installed in the wall (back side of cabinet). That way you don't have to make any holes in the top of the cabinet and you don't loose cabinet space. However, if you make it near the top, you have to worry about running the wire such that it's not a problem for any shelves in the cabinet.

So perhaps the best place is near the bottom of the cabinet. But I still like the idea of it being in the wall rather than on the "floor" of the cabinet like mine is.
HooKooDooKu is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-20-2010, 08:50 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: West Central Ohio
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 27
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by HooKooDooKu View Post
Perhaps a better placement would be near inside the cabinet, but installed in the wall (back side of cabinet). That way you don't have to make any holes in the top of the cabinet and you don't loose cabinet space. However, if you make it near the top, you have to worry about running the wire such that it's not a problem for any shelves in the cabinet.

So perhaps the best place is near the bottom of the cabinet. But I still like the idea of it being in the wall rather than on the "floor" of the cabinet like mine is.
So when you suggest inside the wall, you're talking about mounting an outlet box to the side of a stud, and then running the power cable through a hole in the wall? Does that go against code? I mean, what kind of access is required for any outlet? I can see mounting just a single-plug outlet against the back wall of the cabinet. Then only the plug itself would be taking up room. Thanks. Something to think about.
sbazzle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 05:13 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,772
Rewards Points: 2,070
Default


Most microwave instructions direct the installer to the cabinet above the microwave that way when you are hanging it you can feed the cord and plug up to the cabinet before tilting it all the way back in the support frame.
COLDIRON is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding an outlet for above the range microwave casl37 Electrical 17 03-06-2010 07:57 AM
HELP. I really need some advice on how to remove an over the range microwave! justmeee Appliances 9 12-24-2009 03:47 AM
Gas Stove Outlet and Over the Range Microwave theatretch85 Electrical 6 04-24-2009 08:25 AM
Replace Range Outlet Suncrest79 Electrical 22 04-14-2009 11:32 PM
Microwave Outlet Move Rsinc25 Electrical 3 11-22-2007 03:46 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts