Opening New Coffee Shop - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 08-04-2010, 12:40 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Opening new coffee shop


Hi,

I'm in the process of having a space built out for a coffee shop. I need at least 200 amps to run the equipment. The current panel says 100A MAIN BREAKER, BUSSING 225A. VOLTS 208/120V.

My question is what does bussing 225A mean? Do I have enough amps?

Really appreciate any information. Thanks.
maxcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-04-2010, 01:20 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Main breaker is 100a
Usually that is all you have
Unless possibly a split bus

Can you post a pic ?



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-04-2010, 01:29 PM   #3
Tool Geek
 
PaliBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pacific Palisades CA
Posts: 2,590
Rewards Points: 2,160
Default


208/120 is 3 phase power
.
__________________
Disclaimer
& Stay Safe
.....Bob Lavery
PaliBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-04-2010, 01:44 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default


I attached a picture of the tag on the panel and a pic of what I think is a transformer.

Thanks.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf elecpanel_tag.pdf (33.6 KB, 112 views)
File Type: pdf transformer.pdf (79.4 KB, 121 views)
maxcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 01:56 PM   #5
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 18,813
Rewards Points: 23,968
Blog Entries: 11
Default


Definitely a three phase panel. You should be buying equipment rated for commercial 208 power. You may be disipointed in 240 equipment used on this system. It will be slightly lower power than normally espected.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 01:58 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default


I was told I need at least 200amps, but it sounds like 3 phase should be sufficient to run commercial grade kitchen/coffee appliances?
maxcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 02:11 PM   #7
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 7,551
Rewards Points: 6,290
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by maxcat View Post
I attached a picture of the tag on the panel and a pic of what I think is a transformer.

Thanks.
where did you come up with the bussing 225A?


basically, you have a 100 amp panel. The other pic is a transformer and a disconnect. It may or may not be fused. Without peeking in it, no way to really tell.


So, if somebody told you you need at least a 200 amp service, you do not have enough power. Without knowing what size that transformer is, no way to tell you if it would power a 200 amp panel. Generally you do not put in a transformer that is oversized such as that. It costs more and nobody wants to spend money.

who told you you needed 200 amps?
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 02:16 PM   #8
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 18,813
Rewards Points: 23,968
Blog Entries: 11
Default


Unless you tell us all the apliances and their ratings we can't answer your question. You need to do a demand load caculation. Fridges, coffee makers, dish washers, water heaters, air conditioners, frunaces, etc all need to factored into wether you have enough power or not.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 02:56 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default


@nap

I got bussing 225 from the electrical drawings for the space. I tried attaching the drawing but it's too big.

Here's some transformer info I took from the plans:
NEW DRY TYPE TRANSFORMER, 30KVA 480V-120/208V, 3∅, 4W WITH (4)-2.5% FCBN TAPS, LOW SOUND LEVEL, CLASS H.

My coffee shop consultant said I need 200amps.

@joed, got it, thanks.
maxcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Putting a wall over a large opening, need ideas aqzman Building & Construction 5 10-28-2009 03:46 PM
Wiring shop need advice stqevo Electrical 14 09-03-2009 12:18 PM
Installing closet doors into un-true opening - Need ideas McCool Carpentry 8 08-12-2009 01:37 PM
Simple coffee shop sink ppark Plumbing 4 07-16-2009 11:31 AM
Finishing opening for closet Frank_N_Stein Carpentry 11 12-24-2008 08:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts