Open Ground Gfci? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 10-20-2015, 01:16 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 253
Rewards Points: 294
Default

Open ground gfci?


There are 3 gfci above kitchen countertop. 2 record as fine but one is recording open ground, what could do that?
Mikeron is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-20-2015, 01:18 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,039
Rewards Points: 2,084
Blog Entries: 1
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikeron View Post
There are 3 gfci above kitchen countertop. 2 record as fine but one is recording open ground, what could do that?
A ground wire that is not connected to the outlet. Open it up.
__________________
John Grabowski

MrElectrician.TV
MrElectricianTV is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-20-2015, 01:43 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 253
Rewards Points: 294
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by MrElectricianTV View Post
A ground wire that is not connected to the outlet. Open it up.
This just has two wires a red and white, same runs in the junction box.

Should I take it out and replace with new 12/2 romex?
Mikeron is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-20-2015, 02:05 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: California
Posts: 774
Rewards Points: 516
Default


It's GFCI'd so put a label on the receptacle that says "no equipment grounding conductor "
Arrow3030 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2015, 02:09 PM   #5
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 11,085
Rewards Points: 796
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikeron View Post
This just has two wires a red and white, same runs in the junction box.

Should I take it out and replace with new 12/2 romex?
\

only having RED AND WHITE is unusual. Are the wires in conduit?
__________________
My electrical answers are based on 2017 NEC, you may have local amendments.

Location: Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2015, 04:06 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 36,821
Rewards Points: 18,784
Default


And having three GFI's is strange.
Location may help. In the US you need two 20 Amp. GFI protected circuits over a counter.
Only one GFI is needed per circuit.
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2015, 05:40 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 8,836
Rewards Points: 3,278
Default


Multiwire branch circuits usually have a red wire.
MWBCs usually require a separate ground fault circuit interrupter receptacle at each outlet location if a GFCI 2 pole breaker was not used.
Unlike when dealing with the neutral, there are no special tricks needed to run the equipment grounding conductor to the various receptacles in a daisy chained MWBC.
__________________
Stop some of your bank autopayments so you can set priorities for manual monthly payments out of your coronavirus stimulus check.

Last edited by AllanJ; 10-20-2015 at 05:55 PM.
AllanJ is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gfci - no ground SPS-1 Electrical 1 06-29-2015 07:59 PM
Open Ground... JohnC20 Electrical 9 07-20-2013 06:47 PM
2 Similar GFCI, but one tests open ground crescere Electrical 40 08-28-2012 09:19 PM
Open Ground in Non Daisy Chained Outlet Circuit RileyRR Electrical 2 05-18-2011 02:00 PM
Help Needed with Open Ground mark2741 Electrical 35 08-29-2010 03:10 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts