One More Box Extender Question ... - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 12-07-2010, 07:53 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 43
Rewards Points: 25
Default

One more box extender question ...


Can I extend my metal outlet boxes using the pvc extenders? Outlet location in kitchen,will be adding marble tile backsplash.Thanks.
nel262 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-07-2010, 09:05 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 12,409
Rewards Points: 3,660
Default


You will need to run a grounding conductor out to the ground screw on the devices to assure thay are properly grounded.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-08-2010, 09:01 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 43
Rewards Points: 25
Default


My wireing is with BX cable.Isn't the wireing/outlet considered grounded with the bx attached to the box?Do I still need another grounding wire?Wouldn't the longer screw needed to attach the extender to the metal box complete the ground that you mention?Thanks
nel262 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-08-2010, 10:29 AM   #4
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,271
Rewards Points: 1,032
Default


First off, not all flexible metallic conduit is listed to use as the ground. It has to have a metal strip running inside it for that.

That being said, I don't think the screw holding the outlet to the box is enough to properly ground the outlet. You should run a ground wire and attach it to the box.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2010, 11:56 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 43
Rewards Points: 25
Default


The bx that was installed has this metal strip in it.But I will add the ground that is required.Thanks
nel262 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DRIcore question trailblazer1229 Flooring 0 02-24-2010 09:25 AM
3 Phase meter socket question a320200 Electrical 4 12-11-2009 12:45 AM
An unasked question is the only dumb question jackie treehorn Kitchen & Bath Remodeling 1 09-20-2009 08:24 PM
A question about water preassure. reasonforseason Plumbing 5 04-14-2009 04:36 PM
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 08:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts