Old Wiring - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 12-01-2009, 05:55 PM   #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

old wiring


my house has old wiring with only white and black wires no ground.
when i add a new outlet or whatever to a junction box what do i do with the ground...just connect it to the box or what?
nt4sell is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-01-2009, 06:10 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 8,436
Rewards Points: 6,444
Default


By code you can not extend a 2 wire circuit.
__________________
Yes I am a pirate, two hundred years too late
The cannons don't thunder, there's nothing to plunder
I'm an over-forty victim of fate.
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-01-2009, 06:28 PM   #3
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default


so whats the proper way to install a new outlet?
nt4sell is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-01-2009, 06:35 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


You need to run a new 2 wire circuit with a ground



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2009, 07:49 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 951
Rewards Points: 500
Default


And if you're opening up the wall with the breaker box, you're going to want to consider running all new wires everywhere, especially if the old wire is in that tar coated cloth sheathing that by now is totally useless.
pyper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2009, 10:49 PM   #6
Licensed Electrician
 
Magnettica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Rahway, NJ
Posts: 168
Rewards Points: 150
Send a message via Yahoo to Magnettica
Default


The bare/ green wire gets attached to the metal box and then to the green screw on the receptacle.

If you have or are using a plastic box then the bare/ green wire goes directly to the green screw on the receptacle.

The point of grounding/ bonding is to provide a low impedance path to clear a fault.

What's a fault?

Here is how the NEC defines a fault: An unintentional, electrically conducting connection between an ungrounded (hot) conductor of an electrical circuit and the normally non–current-carrying conductors, metallic enclosures, metallic raceways, metallic equipment, or earth.
__________________
Union County, NJ, Licensed Electrician
Classic Electric, LLC, Rahway, New Jersey
Magnettica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 12:36 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 41
Rewards Points: 25
Default


Are you just pulling off an old broken outlet and replacing it?
Timster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 08:14 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 8,712
Rewards Points: 3,030
Default


Choice of:

2. Install a two prong receptacle.

3. Install a GFCI receptacle unit. Label the cover plate "no equipment ground"

4. Install a GFCI breaker for the circuit or a GFCI receptacle upstream on the same daisy chained circuit and label the new standard receptacle's cover plate "GFCI protected, no equipment ground".

I would not feel comfortable merely pigtailing the metal box to the receptacle green screw since I am not sure of the quality of grounding given the joints, possibly quite oxidized, between BX cable sheath and box clamps daisy chaining down to the panel.
__________________
Stop some of your bank autopayments so you can set priorities for manual monthly payments out of your coronavirus stimulus check.
AllanJ is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring diagram for three-way switches with pilot light SaxTeacher Electrical 34 09-15-2013 07:53 AM
Cloth Wiring - Replace? JessicaGus Electrical 9 09-23-2009 06:45 PM
electric wiring in house remodel wis_remod Electrical 6 04-02-2009 02:40 PM
New Home Wiring - Seeking Expert Advice Dirtrnr Electrical 3 02-10-2009 10:33 AM
Knob & Tube wiring - How concerned should we be? hotdiggitydog Electrical 6 04-11-2006 07:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts