Old Light Switch Not Grounded - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 04-10-2020, 05:30 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 22
Default

Old Light Switch Not Grounded


I'm replacing an old light switch with a Lutron Wifi one. However, the old switch isn't grounded. There is a green wire attached but it is just capped. The new one does have a ground wire. Does that matter ?
Attached Thumbnails
Old Light Switch Not Grounded-img_0304.jpg  
andrewlowe3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-10-2020, 05:48 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Saskatoon Sk. Canada
Posts: 1,056
Rewards Points: 14
Default

Re: Old Light Switch Not Grounded


Does your new switch require a neutral? If so, is there one tucked into the back of the box?

Switches do not require a ground to work, although some can use the ground in place of a neutral. If there is a ground wire in the box then wire nut it to the ground wire of the switch.
daveb1 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to daveb1 For This Useful Post:
andrewlowe3 (04-10-2020)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-10-2020, 06:02 PM   #3
Very Stable Genius
 
CodeMatters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,146
Rewards Points: 790
Default

Re: Old Light Switch Not Grounded


Agree with @daveb1 .
Also, last guy made joint poorly. Uninsulated wire should not extend outside
of wire nut.
CodeMatters is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to CodeMatters For This Useful Post:
andrewlowe3 (04-10-2020)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-10-2020, 10:21 PM   #4
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 3,869
Rewards Points: 4,212
Default

Re: Old Light Switch Not Grounded


Quote:
Originally Posted by daveb1 View Post
Does your new switch require a neutral? If so, is there one tucked into the back of the box?
Although it is now code, it wasn't for decades.
It is not uncommon to find only a switch leg in a switch box.
You will be fortunate to find one if you home is older.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts