In Old Houses Is It Normal To Use Multi Wire Wiring Bundles Out Of The Breaker Box? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-09-2020, 07:58 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

In old houses is it normal to use multi wire wiring bundles out of the breaker box?

I have an old house, ca 1928.
A lot of the wiring is old. A lot has been replaced over the years.
I'm not an electrician but I am very comfortable doing wiring. But I don't have the experience of an electrician to be able to answer what's up with this particular wiring.
Into my breaker box, one of the sets of wires is a large, multi-wire, metal-sheathed cable.
This cable has 3 Red, 3 Black, and 3 White wires.
This is 14 gauge wire.
2 of the Red are not in use -- they are each coiled and capped with wire nut.
The remaining "hot" wires -- three Black and one Red -- are set into 15 Amp breakers.
The whites all go to the common return.
Is this typical? Using a huge, multi-wire cable, to feed the rest of the house?
I'm not sure why there aren't 4 white returns. Or, rather, an equal number of hot wires and return wires. Is that also normal? (It's possible I mis-counted, though, the wires are a mess)
Should I treat this bundle any differently than any other wiring?
jsilve1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-09-2020, 08:20 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 166

Re: In old houses is it normal to use multi wire wiring bundles out of the breaker bo

Quote:
Originally Posted by jsilve1 View Post
I have an old house, ca 1928.
A lot of the wiring is old. A lot has been replaced over the years.
I'm not an electrician but I am very comfortable doing wiring. But I don't have the experience of an electrician to be able to answer what's up with this particular wiring.