An Oddity - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 03-25-2010, 06:04 PM   #16
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by StahlMaster View Post
If it is a suspended ceiling, I would check to see if the nails or hooks to tie the main rails of the ceiling grid are not driven into a wire. I would also check the rail around the Perimeter for the same thing.

D
Good idea! Certainly a possibility.

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-25-2010, 09:54 PM   #17
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Rewards Points: 500
Default


thanks for the help people...got it figured out. Apparently my first assesment of the problem was the correct one after contacting the manufacturer and a few master electrician friends of mine. The system does infact have to be grounded to function properly due to the nature of the electronic ballasts. They need a ground reference point to work right. With all the harmonics in the ballasts and the fact that the grid is quite large it acts like a transformer almost in the sense that the ballasts are the primary and the grid is the secondary. It can induce a voltage right up to almost what the source voltage is but won't carry enough current to even register on an amp probe. So it would give you a bit of a jolt if conditions were right but no harm can be done. I'm sure i'll recieve a bunch of arguments from people out there about this but for those at trade if you really think about it and have an understanding of transformers then it makes perfect sense.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-25-2010, 10:25 PM   #18
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 7,551
Rewards Points: 6,290
Default


by theory, sure. Never seen it in real life. Maybe thats due to competent electricians installing EGC's where they are required.

Curious question:

down here in the states we cannot use NM above a grid ceiling other than in a 1,2, or multi family dwellings. Apparently you folks don't have a rule prohibiting the use? or is this a resi dwelling?

and do you know of anywhere on the net the Canadian Electrical Code is available online?
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-25-2010, 10:33 PM   #19
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Rewards Points: 500
Default


you are quite right on the nm thing....it's an old building. Romex was run in the walls and the original lights were surface. When the new grid was dropped in they ran from the nearest junction box which is in drywall. So the wire at the panel is a romex(where the ground was cut), but everything in the dropped ceiling is infact bx. Good call on that one though.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 10:57 PM   #20
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 7,551
Rewards Points: 6,290
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by andrew79 View Post
you are quite right on the nm thing....it's an old building. Romex was run in the walls and the original lights were surface. When the new grid was dropped in they ran from the nearest junction box which is in drywall. So the wire at the panel is a romex(where the ground was cut), but everything in the dropped ceiling is infact bx. Good call on that one though.
but what about the CEC? We have enough Canadians here that I would really like to be able to refer to their code, if possible when trying to help those folks to.


In the alternative, if you cannot come up with a link, you are hereby drafted to remain a member of the forum so you can answer Canadian code questions.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 11:18 PM   #21
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Rewards Points: 500
Default


i tried to find it and i couldn't....not suprising as it would cost them money on people not having to buy the books . I'll most likely stick around anyways...this place is like a black hole...i popped in to ask a question and now i find myself on it half the day. Just an FYI as i'm not sure how it works in other parts of the world but we have different code books for each province that have small variations on certain things that are in the CEC. We do use the CEC for trade school though.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts