An Oddity - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-25-2010, 12:25 AM   #1
Master Electrician

Rewards Points: 500

an oddity

new here and had a very strange thing happen today. The place where my father works is having some renovations done. A new dropped ceiling was put in and some 2 by 4 lights installed. The poor fellow doing the work got tagged off the ceiling grid so i said i'd take a look at it for them as i'm a licensed electrician. I found that there was no ground running to the lights, someone had cut it off. After reconnecting it the circuit works fine. It has me absolutely baffled as to why the grid livened up due to there not being a ground though. I checked every light and there no pinched wires....nothings crossed anywhere. Is this a property of an electronic ballast that i don't know about? I know most electronic equipment needs a ground to function normally but i've never seen anything like this happen before. I know the answer is right there but i just can't seem to wrap my head around it. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

note...i should also mention that the lights did work with both the grid live and not live.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-25-2010, 01:52 AM   #2
nap
You talking to me?

Rewards Points: 6,290

did you actually read a voltage? Did you feel it?

I know a lot of times I have had guys think they got bit but it was actually things like the tie wires poking them or a sharp corner poking them and they thought they were getting shocked.

It never hurts to ground the grid. It should be grounded simply through contact with the lights but if you don't have a ground wire to the lights or there is not good electrical contact between the light and the grid, it might not be grounded.