Novice On Discharging Capacitors....?? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree12Likes
  • 1 Post By Bud9051
  • 1 Post By Oso954
  • 1 Post By HandyAndyInNC
  • 1 Post By MTN REMODEL LLC
  • 1 Post By Bud9051
  • 1 Post By Bud9051
  • 1 Post By chandler48
  • 1 Post By Shadow99
  • 1 Post By RAL238
  • 1 Post By Bud9051
  • 1 Post By RAL238
  • 1 Post By MTN REMODEL LLC

Old 11-07-2019, 01:33 PM   #1
Remodel and New Build GC

Rewards Points: 1,832

Novice on discharging capacitors....??

I'm a GC...able to fully wire up residential....but I am a COMPLETE NOVICE in regard to what I'll call electronic issues.

We never had A/C issues at7500 feet in the mountains (involving capacitors) and I am about to F--K with a broken microwave.

So to discharge a capacitor, I ordered and received two resistors... a 25W 100-Ohm and a 25W 2000-Ohm resistor.

I believe I understand the Ohm rateing...but correct or elaborate my understanding if I don't.:

The resistance rateing will just determine the speed at which I discharge a capacitor..(and lessen the "shock" to the capacitor relative to hitting it with a screwdriver.) Generally, the higher voltage incurred with a capacitor, the greater resistance of the resister is called for. For the micowave I got the 2000 -Ohm resistor.....for A/C capacitors I got the 100-Ohm resistor.

Is that appropriate. (Apart from the time involved to discharge, is there any reason to not use a high Ohm resistor to discharge any capacitor)

As to wattage rateing, I do not understand.

Is wattage rateing the maximum wattage a resistor can handle. (It seems with such high voltage of some capacitors, there would be alot of wattage involved..?)

Similarly, if wattage is a maximum rateing, does it matter if I use a 100 watt verse a 25 watt resistor to discharge a capacitor.