No Power To GFCH Boiler - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 06-17-2009, 01:42 AM   #1
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

No power to GFCH boiler


Hi there,

I have a mechanical timer switch control for the gas boiler. Recently there was no power to the switch, no circuit breakers tripped in the main circuit box. I thought it might be the mechanical timer (apt model), but the following day the power to this point came back on and the boiler worked. Over the last week, the power to this point stops for approx 10 -15 hours and comes back again. Is it possible this circuit is overloaded or is shorting out?
razor35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-17-2009, 04:18 AM   #2
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 44
Rewards Points: 25
Default


Is it a consistent 10-15 hours every day? Also, when the problem occurs, is it unusually warm in the room where the boiler is, in other words, will the boiler run for a while, get hot, then shut down for a while before coming back on?

Just based solely on what you mentioned in your post, it sounds like a thermal overload is tripping somewhere. A thermal overload is basically a fuse that trips when it gets hot, then resets itself as it cools down. During normal operation they shouldn't open, but if your boiler is running excessively hot for some reason, they could potentially open and close every day. It is possible an overload or short could cause this. I don't think it's a short, they don't usually have a tendency to fix themselves for any amount of time, an overload is more likely, but it may not necessarily be the issue.
Atroxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-17-2009, 05:23 AM   #3
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

No power to gas boiler


I don't think its a thermal overload as the timer is only set for 3 hours a day. The boiler will run for the 3 hours if there is power to the switch, it doesn't run for a while, switch off and switch back on as you mentioned.There is a fuse ( 3 Amp) in a box directly above timer switch which has been replaced. Is this the thermal fuse you mentioned ( see picture attached), I presume this is linked to timer switch. Also if there was a thermal overload should a circuit breaker trip in the main circuit breaker box.
Attached Thumbnails
No power to GFCH boiler-dscn0181.jpg  
razor35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-17-2009, 06:30 AM   #4
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,571
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default


Possibly on a load control meter from your utility?
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2009, 05:34 PM   #5
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 44
Rewards Points: 25
Default


A thermal overload is a little different from a fuse. Besides the fact that an overload is resettable, they are used in different places. A thermal overload is typically used to protect an electric motor, such as the one in your boiler. Also, you won't find a thermal o/l in a fusebox as they are normally part of the actual motor circuit. That's why I asked if the boiler room was running excessively hot whenever you lost power on your switch.

Just to clarify, was your timer offline for 10-15 hours total over the course of the week, or 10-15 hours per day? I thought you said per day, but now after rereading your post, I find myself slightly confused about it.

Lastly, it is possible for an electrical problem to trip both the breaker and the thermal o/l, but one doesn't necessarily affect the other. The o/l responds to heat only, while the breaker trips on excess amperage.
Atroxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2009, 07:02 PM   #6
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default


No, the room where the boiler is located does not become excessively hot when i loose power to the switch, as the rad in that room is off. yes, It is approx. 5-15 hours per DAY the power is out to the switch, not sure about the exact time ( today out from 13:30 to approx 22:00)
Thinking of caling an electrician at this stage?
razor35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to diagnose gas valve problems Nestor_Kelebay How To Guides 28 10-30-2013 04:19 PM
Resource for understanding gas valve? darsunt HVAC 19 02-03-2009 11:08 PM
Burnham V7 series oild-fired boiler is turning itself off Pickngrin HVAC 6 01-12-2009 08:26 PM
Noise from boiler power vent den HVAC 2 03-03-2007 07:10 AM
Partial power on same fuse! joyjam Electrical 5 07-10-2005 10:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts