No Power To Any Outlets In Garage - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 04-26-2016, 12:24 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 2
Default

no power to any outlets in garage


Good breaker. all outlets read 120 volts form white to ground and black to ground. from white to black zero voltage. pull all outlets. no joy
wapayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-26-2016, 12:33 PM   #2
Jello Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Chicago Burbs
Posts: 487
Rewards Points: 539
Default

Re: no power to any outlets in garage


How would you get 120 volts from white to ground?
ChiTownPro is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-26-2016, 12:45 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 56
Rewards Points: 114
Default

Re: no power to any outlets in garage


Does any of this help?

http://www.diychatroom.com/f18/why-1...uetral-137093/
Phases is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-26-2016, 02:15 PM   #4
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 7,559
Rewards Points: 1,356
Default

Re: no power to any outlets in garage


Quote:
How would you get 120 volts from white to ground?
The short answer is an open neutral and some load that is plugged in or switched on.

Voltage (potential) passes thru the load, but the load does not operate because there is no current flow.
Oso954 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Oso954 For This Useful Post:
Jim Port (04-26-2016)
Old 04-26-2016, 03:01 PM   #5
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 18,178
Rewards Points: 22,714
Blog Entries: 11
Default

Re: no power to any outlets in garage


Open neutral. No doubt in mind.
If the garage is detached the buried cable could be damaged.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2016, 03:25 PM   #6
Jello Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Chicago Burbs
Posts: 487
Rewards Points: 539
Default

Re: no power to any outlets in garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
Open neutral. No doubt in mind.
If the garage is detached the buried cable could be damaged.
How do you figure? There is no voltage on the neutral to hot. But voltage on H-G and N-G.
ChiTownPro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2016, 03:36 PM   #7
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 7,559
Rewards Points: 1,356
Default

Re: no power to any outlets in garage


Your meter reads the differance between the 2 probes. So with 120v of the same leg on the hot and the neutral, the difference is zero.

Yet each reads 120v to ground.

Last edited by Oso954; 04-26-2016 at 03:39 PM.
Oso954 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2016, 05:27 PM   #8
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 18,178
Rewards Points: 22,714
Blog Entries: 11
Default

Re: no power to any outlets in garage


The voltage on the neutral is being fed through some device on the circuit. The circuit is not complete because the neutral is open between the test point and the panel.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2016, 09:26 PM   #9
Jello Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Chicago Burbs
Posts: 487
Rewards Points: 539
Default

Re: no power to any outlets in garage


That doens't explain why the hot is dead or why he's ready 120 on the neutral. If it's being fed from another device it should be lower than 120.
ChiTownPro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2016, 09:37 PM   #10
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 9,549
Rewards Points: 432
Default

Re: no power to any outlets in garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by ChiTownPro View Post
That doens't explain why the hot is dead or why he's ready 120 on the neutral. If it's being fed from another device it should be lower than 120.
The full voltage is read thru the load on the neutral because without a closed circuit there is no voltage drop.
__________________
My electrical answers are based on 2014 NEC, you may have local amendments.

Location: Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2016, 10:01 PM   #11
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 18,178
Rewards Points: 22,714
Blog Entries: 11
Default

Re: no power to any outlets in garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by ChiTownPro View Post
That doens't explain why the hot is dead or why he's ready 120 on the neutral. If it's being fed from another device it should be lower than 120.
You don't understand how electricity works. It is not being fed from another device. The voltage is passing through a device on the circuit.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2016, 11:20 PM   #12
Jello Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Chicago Burbs
Posts: 487
Rewards Points: 539
Default

Re: no power to any outlets in garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
You don't understand how electricity works. It is not being fed from another device. The voltage is passing through a device on the circuit.
I do, it's symatics "fed" "passing through", whatever. The fact is even if it passes through a device it will have some voltage drop. Both will not read 120v. In fact it's suspect that it's reading 120. Most often it will read between 116v-118v.
ChiTownPro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2016, 02:44 PM   #13
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 18,178
Rewards Points: 22,714
Blog Entries: 11
Default

Re: no power to any outlets in garage


Please explain how there can a voltage drop if there is NO current flow.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
Oso954 (04-27-2016), rjniles (04-27-2016)
Old 04-27-2016, 04:41 PM   #14
Member
 
randyhenke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 32
Default

Re: no power to any outlets in garage


At your breaker do you have 120v to ground? Are your lights on the same circuit breaker and do any of them work? Is anything operational on that circuit? Last thing make sure you don't have a disconnect somewhere that is wired incorrectly (switched nuetral) that you may have overlooked.
Check for an open nuetral. You shouldn't have more than a volt or two max between ground and nuetral. You should really see only a few millivolts. I'd suspect the breaker then the first device that feeds power since none of your outlets work. I would be checking all connections are tight.

Sent from my XT1097 using Tapatalk
randyhenke is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
detached garage has no power yellowtail Electrical 56 02-27-2014 10:38 AM
No Power to Outlets in Garage rs1971 Electrical 7 02-02-2013 11:06 PM
Lights turn on. No power to wall outlets StarStryker11 Electrical 4 01-01-2013 04:25 PM
Wiring for switched, split power outlets ELurie Electrical 9 06-21-2007 07:12 PM
Problem W/ Power after Switching Outlets... G19-Fanatic Electrical 17 08-28-2006 01:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts