New Sub Panel In Garage - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 01-10-2010, 11:49 AM   #1
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

New Sub Panel in Garage


I am adding a new sub panel in the attached garage. The new panel is a 100A mian lug panel, I will be feeding it with a 60A 2 pole breaker from the main panel (200A service). The run from one to the other is 45ft in conduit. The question is what size conductors and ground in copper THHN. and what size conduit.

Thanks in advance for the info.
my new moneypit is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-10-2010, 11:57 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


I used 1" PVC - bigger then needed but bigger is easier

I went with #6 wire = 2 hots & white neutral
I used green #8 as ground but you could use #10



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-10-2010, 12:01 PM   #3
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default


If I went to 70A would #6 still be OK?
my new moneypit is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-10-2010, 12:07 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


If newer equipment/panels #6 is rated for 65a in 75c column
So as long as your calculated load is not over 65a you can install a 70a breaker



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 12:52 PM   #5
Licensed Electrician
 
Magnettica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Rahway, NJ
Posts: 168
Rewards Points: 150
Send a message via Yahoo to Magnettica
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
If newer equipment/panels #6 is rated for 65a in 75c column
So as long as your calculated load is not over 65a you can install a 70a breaker
Yup. .

As long as the insulation is THWN.
__________________
Union County, NJ, Licensed Electrician
Classic Electric, LLC, Rahway, New Jersey
Magnettica is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Meter to Garage sub panel usajet Electrical 7 09-28-2009 10:45 PM
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 07:40 PM
sub panel in garage - how many amps? wombosi Electrical 3 02-06-2009 10:27 PM
Wall Panel Over Sheetrock in Garage kypper Building & Construction 1 07-03-2008 07:57 AM
Breaker Panel In Detach Garage Jamn68j Electrical 2 04-25-2007 03:30 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts