New Room Ground Issues - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree4Likes
  • 1 Post By Oso954
  • 1 Post By Oso954
  • 2 Post By jimn01
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 11-04-2017, 02:47 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 24
Default

New Room Ground Issues


I recently built a new room and the person that helped did not connect the ground wire at the electrical box or each outlet. He installed three switches, 2 x 20a for the room that contains 3 outlets a piece and a 15a for three can lights. I'm focusing on the outlets first and noticed that the copper was cut back.

Here's what I've performed to date:

1. In the breaker panel, I connected the new wire copper to an open slot in the same bus as the other copper wires.

2. For outlets that piggyback to other outlets, I used a connector with two inputs to extend the copper cable, and a connector with three inputs to connect the extensions to a pigtail that is secured at the green screw on the outlet.

When I plug in a surge protector, it's still lighting up red next "site wiring fault," but still works (validated the light turns off on other outlets). Any recommendations on why this is still not properly grounded? Is there potential that I connected it incorrectly to the breaker box or there's a loose piece of copper in one of my connectors?

Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
New Room Ground Issues-rsz_img_1007.jpg  
Arch50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-04-2017, 03:00 PM   #2
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 8,501
Rewards Points: 900
Default

Re: New Room Ground Issues


I think your hots and neutrals are reversed.
Hots (blacks) should be on the brass screws, neutrals on the silver.
CodeMatters likes this.
Oso954 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Oso954 For This Useful Post:
Arch50 (11-04-2017), Jim Port (11-07-2017)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-04-2017, 03:11 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 24
Default

Re: New Room Ground Issues


Thanks, Oso! I just painted the stairs so will have to wait until tomorrow. So the grounding may now be connected properly and the fault light is throwing based on hot/neutral not connected properly? If so, easy fix and will validate with each.
Arch50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-04-2017, 03:26 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 8,377
Rewards Points: 6,364
Default

Re: New Room Ground Issues


Guessing you hired a handyman and not an electrician!
__________________
Yes I am a pirate, two hundred years too late
The cannons don't thunder, there's nothing to plunder
I'm an over-forty victim of fate.
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2017, 03:31 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 24
Default

Re: New Room Ground Issues


Something along those lines.... Hoping Oso's recommendation of hot to brass fixes the wire fault light.
Arch50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2017, 04:32 PM   #6
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 19,610
Rewards Points: 30,542
Blog Entries: 11
Default

Re: New Room Ground Issues


Based on your picture it sure looks like the hots are on the silver screws.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2017, 05:03 PM   #7
Naildriver
 
chandler48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Young Harris, Georgia
Posts: 8,338
Rewards Points: 1,304
Default

Re: New Room Ground Issues


The hots ARE on the silver screws, which are on the side of the green ground screw. Also, turn the shepherd's crook around on the grounding wire. It should be clockwise so it tightens up when you tighten the screw. You have quality receptacles, so you can use the pressure plates on the hots and neutrals without bending the wires.
__________________
Larry......
Half of Communications is Listening, and You can't Listen with your Mouth.
chandler48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2017, 05:05 PM   #8
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 8,501
Rewards Points: 900
Default

Re: New Room Ground Issues


Quote:
He installed three switches, 2 x 20a for the room that contains 3 outlets a piece and a 15a for three can lights
Why the 20amp switches ?
I see 14 gauge (15 amp) wiring in the pic. I hope that receptacle is on a 15 amp breaker, not a 20.
Blue Marjan likes this.
Oso954 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2017, 08:29 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,364
Rewards Points: 125
Default

Re: New Room Ground Issues


The simple screw ups in this photo make me wonder what else was done wrong. Personally I would be kind of nervous about this electrical install.
47_47 and CodeMatters like this.
jimn01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2017, 09:00 AM   #10
Member
 
CodeMatters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,742
Rewards Points: 7,478
Default

Re: New Room Ground Issues


Quote:
Originally Posted by jimn01 View Post
The simple screw ups in this photo make me wonder what else was done wrong. Personally I would be kind of nervous about this electrical install.
Me too. I'd redo everything he touched.
CodeMatters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2017, 11:48 AM   #11
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 19,610
Rewards Points: 30,542
Blog Entries: 11
Default

Re: New Room Ground Issues


What is your location. If you were in Ontario you could report him to the ESA.

https://www.esasafe.com/licensing/co...ons-unlicensed
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2017, 11:59 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 24
Default

Re: New Room Ground Issues


Thanks for all of the great advice. I purchased an outlet tester that determines if hot/neutral is incorrect, not properly grounded, etc. Happy to say, no errors after addressing the issues. Here's the remediation:

1) Removed both 20a breakers and replaced with 15a breakers given the 14g wiring
2) Reversed black/silver to black/gold on all outlets
3) Identified that on the second 14g run, there was a splice to extend the wiring and only the hot/neutral was capped. Stripped back the copper and connected and the rest is history.

Thanks again to everyone. You really helped me improve the safety of my new room. Now onto determining how to check if the three can lights installed were grounded or not....
Arch50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding ground to a room liljoey112 Electrical 10 06-02-2013 01:19 AM
Room Addition Second Story vs Ground Floor Add On Topcat Remodeling 5 07-27-2011 09:17 PM
Brainstorming ideas to Dress Up the front room of my new house!! the_d_mann1 Interior Decorating 0 05-01-2011 05:47 PM
Well Room (Cold Room) Issue--Advice Needed TomPgh Building & Construction 11 01-03-2011 07:31 PM
Cold Room mikelbeck HVAC 14 01-16-2009 09:21 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts