New Man Cave 60 Hz Hum In Guitar Amp - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By Shadow99
  • 1 Post By cranstjs

Old 11-18-2019, 09:01 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 14

New Man Cave 60 hz hum in guitar amp

Hi all. My first post. I am an electrical engineer retired but not an electrician for residences. As the subject says, I have a 60 hz hum issue in guitar amps in a man cave I just finished building.

A little history. There is my primary 12 year old house. The breaker box was full. So watching a YouTube I took on the task of an add on sub-panel adjacent to the primary box. I used two sets of Romex cabling to run 240 vac to a ductless climate control system. And a second circuit with a single breaker for the 120 vac wall outlets. (The primary breaker feeding it is a 100 amp in the main panel). I also have a second shed with a light and socket that I moved to the new sub-panel to make room for the 100 amp).

In the cave I have some overhead incandescent lights and a small 2 cu ft refrigerator.

What I'm suspicious of with my guitar amps making 60 cycle noise is one thing that troubled me when I added the sub panel in my garage. The new panel only had one bar to install both neutral and ground wiring. Rather than the main panel which has both a bar for neutral and a bar for ground.
However, the main panel has a shorting bar going directly across from neutral to ground essentially making it one. So since the distance to the main and sub-panel is about 12 inches, I figured putting the neutrals and ground on the one bar wouldn't be a problem. However I also read that with a shorting bar setup like this, there should only be one point where the grounds are.