New Construction, Service Panel - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 12-11-2011, 05:57 PM   #16
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,921
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default


how about if you strip off most of it first then label the couple inches of sheathing you left on there and slide it down to label the wire if it will make you and your inspector happy?
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-11-2011, 06:04 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Minnetrista, MN
Posts: 183
Rewards Points: 219
Default


I think I have a happy medium, enough to label, enough removed to not clutter up.

Don't get me wrong, I appreciate the advice. And I heed it, but we all just collect info and make up mind.
bkvanbek is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-11-2011, 11:48 PM   #18
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 3,383
Rewards Points: 3,666
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by bkvanbek View Post
It does not make sense to remove all the sheathing then, to take a scrap, label it and put it over the wires as is mentioned here and as mentioned by the inspector.
Yeah, it does. It makes perfect sense. You could use anything you want to label the wires: printed wire tags, sticky labels, tiny writing on the insulation itself, pieces of white tape... or a convenient scrap of NM cable sheath that just happens to be laying at your feet and is just the right size to write on while sliding easily over the conductor. Note that you generally only put the labeled piece of sheath over the hot conductor, and it sits near the breaker - which is not what you get if you just don't strip the cable sheath in the first place.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-12-2011, 06:04 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Minnetrista, MN
Posts: 183
Rewards Points: 219
Default


You guys were right, there I said it. Don't tell my wife, she thinks I can't say that. I redid it put little tags by the breakers, I even cut the pig tails down on the Arc faults. Hope I did everything right. I hopefully attached a photo.

I have some 4 awg wires left over, just kidding, they are for a welder or something. How big of breaker can I use? 60amp?
Attached Images
 
bkvanbek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 06:14 PM   #20
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 7,828
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default


That looks fine. That is just how most of us would do it.

I must also say I am very impressed that you mounted the panel "breaker down". You notice I didn't say "upside down", since there is NO upside down with most new panels since most main breakers now move side-to-side.
SO many folks would still stupidly mount the panel with the main at the top and route the large unyielding service conductors all the way around the enclosure. MUCH cleaner and easier the way you did it.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 06:20 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Minnetrista, MN
Posts: 183
Rewards Points: 219
Default


it is technically a sub panel. The meter and main panel are mounted on the far side of the garage. That is why I have four ground bars in it. But does it look okay?
bkvanbek is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Service Panel Replacement and 200A upgrade mark_anderson_u Electrical 2 09-10-2010 06:43 AM
Main Panel / Service Upgrades gbe Electrical 12 11-06-2009 11:20 PM
Grounding for two service entrances to same house. jogr Electrical 18 09-24-2008 10:31 AM
Main disconnect box before service panel Cellomangler Electrical 4 02-04-2008 07:43 AM
New Service, New Construction Tcal Electrical 6 08-16-2007 12:27 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts