New 240V Receptacle Reads Zero Volts - Electrical - Page 3 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 09-19-2009, 07:41 AM   #31
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Code05 View Post
No revision needed, you are correct reguarding the grounding terminations on devices. See 250.126. Its gotta be green.
Thanks, good to know
Now just need the Mfg to know

Does the device serve a dual purpose?
Does it have the grounding symnol indication anywhere?







Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-19-2009, 08:11 AM   #32
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 20
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
Thanks, good to know
Now just need the Mfg to know

Does the device serve a dual purpose?
Does it have the grounding symnol indication anywhere?
I don't know if that was a rhetorical question, but it does not have a grounding symbol anywhere. There were no instructions on the package, either, nor are there any on the Cooper website.

I looked at the receptacle again last night. It's definitely a silver screw, but I can see where someone might think it was somehow a little green. But it's not at all like all the grounding screws I've seen elsewhere.
Madroaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-19-2009, 12:35 PM   #33
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Ok to make it clear here is that siliver screw is on the yolk strap { metal strap to hold the recetaple } if so that is ground screw location not anywhere else at all ?

If that case the yolk and ground slot both must be use with ground wire you do not need the netural at all due you have straght 240 volt load.

I know you mention red and black conductor so that fine for hot conductor.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running 220v Electronics on 120V Outlet? hellfire Electrical 42 01-14-2014 08:59 PM
Help with 20A 240v receptacle jayp Electrical 14 07-11-2011 06:21 AM
Wiring A Ceiling Fan, Receptacle, and Outside Light merlin6984 Electrical 9 03-26-2009 09:52 PM
Receptacle Rating question Ultrarunner2017 Electrical 19 12-20-2008 06:20 PM
Receptacle Rating question Ultrarunner2017 Electrical 5 12-18-2008 05:36 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts