Neon Electrical Issues - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 06-14-2020, 04:50 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 14

Neon Electrical issues

Hello I have a question.I have a problem with some neon lights that worked previously.The transformer light blinks and shows it has a secondary fault i think.I am trying to trouble shoot it and cant figure it out as i have basic knowledge.I replaced the transformer and the same problem.I removed the gto wire from the conduit to check if it was arcing anywhere and it was good.When i took all the wire out of the conduit and tested it.It worked fine no problem at all.When i ran the wire back through the conduit and hooked it back up it gave me the same issue.So it works when the wire is out of the conduit but not when i put it inside the conduit.The conduit has rust inside i thought that may be an issue but i have no idea.I hope someone has some knowledge they can lay on me.
alex1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-14-2020, 05:56 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 6

Re: Neon Electrical issues

GTO is breaking down. What size xformer? Are you using housings? or just sleeves and boots on the electrodes? How many feet , size, and fill gas of tubes? Replace GTO and it will work again
djhutt is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to djhutt For This Useful Post:
alex1990 (06-14-2020)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-14-2020, 06:35 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 14