Need Some Help With Garage Electrical Issue - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 06-17-2010, 11:10 AM   #16
Member
 
47_47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Springville, NY
Posts: 2,585
Rewards Points: 320
Default


Holt,

The more I think about this, are you sure of your voltage readings? If you get zero volts under a load on one leg only 1/2 of the panel would not work at all. The other half should work fine.
47_47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-17-2010, 11:23 AM   #17
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 8,156
Rewards Points: 958
Default


Disconnect the wires from the main breaker and tie them together.
Go to the sub panel and test for continuity with the meter.
You shold read 0 ohms if the wire is good, and infinity if the wire is open.
__________________
Yes I am a pirate, two hundred years too late
The cannons don't thunder, there's nothing to plunder
I'm an over-forty victim of fate.
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-17-2010, 11:38 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 50
Rewards Points: 25
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by 47_47 View Post
Holt,

The more I think about this, are you sure of your voltage readings? If you get zero volts under a load on one leg only 1/2 of the panel would not work at all. The other half should work fine.
After testing doing all the test I realized that half of my garage is not powered. Security lights and some outlets do not work. So yes only half the panel is working. Now as far as the half that is working I'm getting a solid reading of 119 to 120 vac. now anything thats on that half of the panel just doesn't get the amps it needs. It seems what every is on it is only running half power. Is it possible some rason my black is open in the ground and my red is on it way. Possible animal or tree root
Holt is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-17-2010, 02:05 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Turn off and on all breakers. Some can trip and not look it.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2010, 02:10 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 50
Rewards Points: 25
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoyizit View Post
Turn off and on all breakers. Some can trip and not look it.
one of the first thing I tried. Thanks though
Holt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2010, 04:42 PM   #21
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Holt View Post
Ok here is what I got now. I at my main breaker panel at my house I have 120vac coming off of each leg, red and black. Double pole breaker with a ground so its 3 wires. Both are testing fine. At my garage. Red leg has 119vac and black has 0vac. The ground goes into the neutral bar. The garage also has a separate ground wire going into earth. All good with It. I check each leg to the neutral bar also. Checked connections and they are all tight. I assume its more then possible that a leg went bad on the wire its left under ground. Also this is copper wire only about 10 years old
Going back a few posts, you say you have a double pole breaker with ground?
What exactly do you have for wires between the house and garage? You should have two hots, which you do, a white neutral, and a green ground. If the wire from the house to the garage is direct bury UF you would have a bare ground.
At the garage, the Red and Black are connected to the bus bars. The white should be connected to a neutral bar that is not connect to the panel or the ground bar. The ground wire should be connected to a ground bus that is connected to the panel. You do say that there is a separate ground at the garage which is OK.
You also talk about underground wiring. Do you know if the wire is in conduit or direct bury?
Just curious, what size breaker is in the main panel that feeds this sub?
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2010, 04:11 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 50
Rewards Points: 25
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by a7ecorsair View Post
Going back a few posts, you say you have a double pole breaker with ground?
What exactly do you have for wires between the house and garage? You should have two hots, which you do, a white neutral, and a green ground. If the wire from the house to the garage is direct bury UF you would have a bare ground.
At the garage, the Red and Black are connected to the bus bars. The white should be connected to a neutral bar that is not connect to the panel or the ground bar. The ground wire should be connected to a ground bus that is connected to the panel. You do say that there is a separate ground at the garage which is OK.
You also talk about underground wiring. Do you know if the wire is in conduit or direct bury?
Just curious, what size breaker is in the main panel that feeds this sub?
Sorry for late reply I have been busy. I miss wrote what I had. I have a 3 wire cable running from the breaker in the main to the sub panel in the garage Which It looks like it is running in conduit. I'm not sure as This was there when I purchased the house. It has conduit from the house going into the ground and from the ground going into the garage. Not sure if conduit extends all the way as i know code around here says you have to have conduit at the entrance and exit and the conduit has to extend 24 or 48 below ground then you don't have to have conduit for the duration of the run. As for what the wire is there is a red and a black connected to the breaker and a white neutral connected to the neutral bar. Sorry in my post I said a ground I didn't mean that. The wire is also 10 awg I believe.
Holt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2010, 05:29 PM   #23
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default


If you are reading voltage at the main disconnect in the house, 240 across the two breaker screws and 120/120 to neutral but not in the garage then you have an open somewhere.

Last edited by a7ecorsair; 06-19-2010 at 05:34 PM.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2010, 10:26 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 50
Rewards Points: 25
Default


Thank you everyone I really appreciate the help.
Holt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2010, 07:21 AM   #25
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Holt View Post
Thank you everyone I really appreciate the help.
Just be sure to let us know what fixed this problem
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2010, 12:59 PM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 8,597
Rewards Points: 2,800
Default


Are you getting at least 115 volts at the motor terminals when the garage door opener is activated?
__________________
Stick to your lawn watering schedule until it really starts to pour. After the storm you have only the same number of rest days you always had and then you need to start watering again.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electrical in detached garage mattjub Electrical 6 04-07-2010 10:44 AM
Electrical problem in garage ginaca Electrical 10 04-19-2009 06:51 PM
Adding an Electrical Outlet in garage Ceiling myworkshop Electrical 3 03-09-2009 12:40 AM
240v electrical to unattached garage? alissakk Electrical 1 07-17-2006 04:58 PM
Electrical issue w/running Exhaust Fan/Light off GFI Exhaust Fan Electrical 1 03-20-2004 05:07 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts