Need Replacement Cover For Old GE Load Center - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Timbo66
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 05-21-2017, 04:48 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 8
Default

Need replacement cover for old GE load center


The load center on my 1969 residence is missing the cover that surrounds the breakers inside the main panel. As it is, anyone could stick a finger in there and get shocked. We're selling the house, and the home inspector is going to have a fit if I leave it this way.

The label says it's a 100 amp GE TRM1610MU but I don't get any hits when searching for that online. Too old I guess. The panel, that is. Or maybe me.

I'm having trouble finding a replacement online, and could use some suggestions on where to look or a part supplier to call.
Attached Thumbnails
Need replacement cover for old GE load center-pic1.jpg   Need replacement cover for old GE load center-pic2.jpg   Need replacement cover for old GE load center-pic3.jpg  
Timbo66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-21-2017, 07:46 PM   #2
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,357
Rewards Points: 4,970
Default

Re: Need replacement cover for old GE load center


The missing dead front is the least of the problems with your installation.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-21-2017, 08:04 PM   #3
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 7,651
Rewards Points: 1,540
Default

Re: Need replacement cover for old GE load center


Don't leave a spare house key in the panel.
Every crook in S. Calif. knows that's a place to look.
Oso954 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-21-2017, 09:19 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 8
Default

Re: Need replacement cover for old GE load center


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
The missing dead front is the least of the problems with your installation.
That is rather cryptic criticism, offering no details or suggestions, and helps no one.
bob22 likes this.
Timbo66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2017, 09:21 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 8
Default

Re: Need replacement cover for old GE load center


Quote:
Originally Posted by Oso954 View Post
Don't leave a spare house key in the panel.
Every crook in S. Calif. knows that's a place to look.
<Sigh> I forgot that was there. I didn't personally place it there but will have a word with the person that did! Thx
Timbo66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2017, 06:47 AM   #6
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 9,665
Rewards Points: 518
Default

Re: Need replacement cover for old GE load center


The chances of finding a replacement are slim and none. You are looking at a panel replacement unless you can find someone to fabricate a dead front.
__________________
My electrical answers are based on 2014 NEC, you may have local amendments.

Location: Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2017, 01:27 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: San Marcos (San Diego) CA
Posts: 1,296
Rewards Points: 2,602
Default

Re: Need replacement cover for old GE load center


Try contacting a local electrical wholesale house. They have connections with GE....
KPDMinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2017, 04:10 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: San Marcos (San Diego) CA
Posts: 1,296
Rewards Points: 2,602
Default

Re: Need replacement cover for old GE load center


Quote:
Originally Posted by KPDMinc View Post
Try contacting a local electrical wholesale house. They have connections with GE....
....if you are in need of a specialist, PM me for a contact name...
KPDMinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to Flush-Mount an Outdoor Load Center fritzycat1 Electrical 10 03-02-2017 10:14 AM
Load Center or Main Lug seephor Electrical 16 11-06-2016 07:12 PM
Main load center switchout question fdmillion Electrical 15 01-17-2013 07:23 PM
How do I know if my load center is single phase? nateo Electrical 15 11-25-2012 01:57 PM
Help 30 amp Load center for my HID lights and miscellaneous [email protected]@ Electrical 9 03-06-2010 11:49 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts