Need Information On Electric/water Line Installation - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 04-26-2011, 11:09 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Need information on electric/water line installation


I've been looking to purchase land in North or East Texas, but none of the small 5-10 acre parcels, located in several different areas, have electric, water or septic on site. I'm aware of the cost of septic, but do not know what is would cost to have electric run from the road up to a building (app 500 feet) and have a meter installed. The same with a water line and a meter. I need a rough estimate of the cost. It will make a difference in whether or not I purchase land without improvements. I would appreciate any advice. Thank you for your time.
jenben59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-27-2011, 05:54 AM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 7,828
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default


No one on any Internet board is going to even begin to give you a close estimate. You may as well throw up a deck of card and then pick one up for your price.

Call or ask around in that area for estimates or price ranges. Ask folks who have had it done.

I love how you refer to a 5-10 acre parcel as "small".
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-27-2011, 06:22 AM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 8,552
Rewards Points: 6,666
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
No one on any Internet board is going to even begin to give you a close estimate. You may as well throw up a deck of card and then pick one up for your price.

Call or ask around in that area for estimates or price ranges. Ask folks who have had it done.

I love how you refer to a 5-10 acre parcel as "small".


They are talking about Texas you know!
__________________
Yes I am a pirate, two hundred years too late
The cannons don't thunder, there's nothing to plunder
I'm an over-forty victim of fate.
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-27-2011, 07:31 AM   #4
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 7,551
Rewards Points: 6,290
Default


jenben, you might speak with your local power companies. For a run that long, in some areas, they will run that. The distance is so great, their engineers might determine they need to run a higher voltage to a point closer to your building and install a transformer there.

On top of that, in my area (don't know if yours would be anything similar), the power company installs the initial run of what they install at a greatly reduced price as to what it would cost on the open market from a private electrician.

So, I would start with at least contacting the involved power companies and try to get some info from them.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 11:09 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 3,471
Rewards Points: 3,130
Default


No way to say - depends entirely on where you live. For one of my houses in another state, there was a flat fee (something like $200 in 1986). That got me a pole, transformer, underground cable about 100 ft to the house, and the meter. For my current house in WV, I wasn't charged anything for pretty much the same setup.
md2lgyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Leaking cast iron drain pipes + roots in 4" main line aminus21 Plumbing 5 09-25-2010 10:21 AM
A blocked water line causing water to loose heat? Snav Plumbing 6 05-07-2010 02:18 PM
Need to run gas line to Tankless Water Heater. anonymouscuban Plumbing 2 04-16-2010 02:56 PM
sewer line Master Brian Plumbing 3 05-25-2009 12:53 AM
Aluminum Soffit and Fascia Installation... MoparAutoworks Building & Construction 1 12-17-2006 07:46 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts