Need Help. Weird Problem With Stove Plug. - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 06-18-2010, 09:22 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Need help. Weird problem with stove plug.


I have in my panel installed a 15/40/15 space saver breaker. I had problem with one of the 15 amp breakers and it finally broke. One of the 15 amp breakers dont work anymore, so i moved that wired to another 15 amp.

Now the space saver breaker has a broken 15amp with 40/15. My wife said the clock on the stove was going wonky, and when she went to cook, the stove started sparking.

Is that broken 15 amp breaker affecting the rest of the breaker??
latinomusician is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-18-2010, 11:04 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 8,153
Rewards Points: 952
Default


Do you mean the breaker is craked, or just not working.
Define broke.
Yes, it can affet the 40 amp breaker also.
Go to the box store and get a new one.
__________________
Yes I am a pirate, two hundred years too late
The cannons don't thunder, there's nothing to plunder
I'm an over-forty victim of fate.
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-18-2010, 12:06 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default


well...................i had problems wiring my chandelier, i kept tripping the breaker, i mixed up some wires by accident. Now that 15 amp breaker is stuck in the middle, in the tripped position. I cant reset that 15 amp breaker. I got my volt tester and dont get anymore voltage out of that 15 amp breaker.

How does the theory/concept with electricity work with the 15 amp breaker causing the 40 amp stove to go crazy?? I would like to know exactly why this happened to my stove.
latinomusician is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-18-2010, 12:43 PM   #4
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default


Chandelier breaker - you either fried the breaker or you have a dead short at the output so it can't be reset. If the breaker won't reset, how would you expect to find voltage at the output with your meter?

15-40-15 breaker. I assume this breaker takes up two spaces in the panel which would mean that 15/40 are on one side of the bus and 40/15 are on the other bus. There would be only two bus connections so the broken breaker could be affecting the 240 to the stove. Is the range wired with #8?
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2010, 03:29 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default


i already tested the breaker with no load(no wire/circuit connected), the breaker wont reset.

Also, the stove does have #8 wire. The breaker is a space saver and takes up 2 spots taking up 2 phases of voltage.

i have 0 Volts on the 15amp, 120 on the positive phase of the 40, 120 on the negative phase of the 40, 120 on the other 15 amp.

So is it possible that even if the positive phase 40 has voltage, it is still out of phase causing the wire to have no neutral??
latinomusician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2010, 03:50 PM   #6
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by latinomusician View Post
i already tested the breaker with no load(no wire/circuit connected), the breaker wont reset.

Also, the stove does have #8 wire. The breaker is a space saver and takes up 2 spots taking up 2 phases of voltage.

i have 0 Volts on the 15amp, 120 on the positive phase of the 40, 120 on the negative phase of the 40, 120 on the other 15 amp.

So is it possible that even if the positive phase 40 has voltage, it is still out of phase causing the wire to have no neutral??
Measure across the two legs of the 40 amp breaker and check for 240VAC.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2010, 05:00 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


You might have a bad neutral connection.

Open circuits are easier to trace than short circuits; I'd start disconnecting things until all your working breakers hold, and then run some checks before reconnecting things.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2010, 05:40 PM   #8
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by latinomusician View Post
I have in my panel installed a 15/40/15 space saver breaker. I had problem with one of the 15 amp breakers and it finally broke. One of the 15 amp breakers dont work anymore, so i moved that wired to another 15 amp.

Now the space saver breaker has a broken 15amp with 40/15. My wife said the clock on the stove was going wonky, and when she went to cook, the stove started sparking.

Is that broken 15 amp breaker affecting the rest of the breaker??
If you have issue with one 15 amp breaker keep tripping or other issue you should not use that and get that affect circuit fixed first before you will destory the other new breaker if you install it.

Now you say the stove gone wonky so you have bad netural connection or even worst is revesed connections.

Simple 10mm { 8AWG } black conductor go to one pole of breaker while other conductor useally red will land on other slot or pole that is correct fashon and for white conductor that is netrual conductor that should be on the netrual bussbar if landed somewhere else that is a automatique red flag!

The last thing I know you did move that 15 amp circuit to somewhere else but the critcal part is if you have red conductor on 15 amp breaker that will tell you that you have MWBC { multiwire branch circuit } it must be in right sequiene to prevent the netural conductor overloaded.

What brand name breaker you have there ?

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2010, 12:57 PM   #9
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Rewards Points: 500
Default


well basically what your saying is that you fused a breaker into the tripped position. Your lucky it didn't fuse closed. Just taking a wire from one breaker to another isn't a good idea...especially if one of those 15A breakers has a red conductor. You could be shooting up to 30A through the neutral if it's wired wrong. Any time you fuse a breaker be it a slimline, spacesaver, or regular breaker replace the whole breaker. You have no idea what took place in there. It could even be something like the 40A portion making contact with the fused 15A portion that's causing the problem. if this did happen it would definately throw the electronics(clock) on the stove out of whack when the surge hit and could cause some arcing at the range itself. Other than a neutral problem, which has already been stated thats the only thing i can think of.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2010, 11:30 PM   #10
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,271
Rewards Points: 1,032
Default


Well said, Andrew!
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2010, 09:20 AM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default


i changed the breaker and everything works now. thanks for all your help guys.
latinomusician is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
20 amp plug MikeyP Electrical 6 01-03-2009 09:04 PM
Neutral problem, not sure what to do now BataviaJim Electrical 37 01-03-2009 11:00 AM
Weird shower head leaking problem shawnst Plumbing 5 12-25-2008 11:23 AM
Weird light problem..please help. Tracie Electrical 3 01-04-2008 05:29 PM
Three electricans said it was impossible! Tom Electrical 35 04-29-2006 05:06 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts