Need Help Installing Electric Heater - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 11-29-2010, 02:15 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Unhappy

Need Help installing electric heater


I am replacing the baseboards in my home with convection wall units.

First two units were easy, the third presents a bit of a problem.

The wiring (black/white/copper wires inside white plastic) for the original baseboard is not long enough to reach the new unit.

Question: Can I just splice on an extra couple of feet?

If so any tips would be most appreciated...


Thanks, Aquamom.
aquamom is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-29-2010, 02:20 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 12,405
Rewards Points: 3,654
Default


You can splice additional length on the the existing cable as long as the splice remains permanently accessible.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-29-2010, 02:44 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Permanently Accessible, hmmmm not sure how I could do that...

Although it would not be to code, would there be any danger in putting the splice behind the drywall?

Any recommendation on the type of splice? (electrical tape... screwcaps... Shrink wrap?)

Thanks again,

Aquamom
aquamom is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-29-2010, 03:00 PM   #4
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 12,405
Rewards Points: 3,654
Default


Burying the splice is against the electrical code. If something were to happen it could allow a fire to start behind the wall and would also be a pain to troubleshoot at a later date.

Can you pull the cable down into the basement and add a junction box there?
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 03:09 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default


No basement... I am on a slab. There is another electrical outlet nearby, I suppose I could put a junction box beneath that and it wouldn't look too hokey...

So I install the junction box to the stud, and put the spliced section inside it, and cover it with a blank plate, that would be considered accessible? (and code, and safe?)

Thanks again,

Aquamom
aquamom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 03:14 PM   #6
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 12,405
Rewards Points: 3,654
Default


Adding another box with a blank plate is considered accessible. You could use an old work box and it would not need to mount on the stud.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 06:31 PM   #7
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 18,810
Rewards Points: 23,962
Blog Entries: 11
Default


Splice must be in a box and accessible. Be sure to use the same size cable.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 07:34 PM   #8
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


if the wire is stranded coming and going what about rated crimp couplings and then tape them
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 10:29 PM   #9
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 18,810
Rewards Points: 23,962
Blog Entries: 11
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by biggles View Post
if the wire is stranded coming and going what about rated crimp couplings and then tape them

Still must be in a box and accessible.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2010, 11:21 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Angry

What the heck is going on?


OK! I put in a new junction box... spliced the new wire in place nice and neat behind a blank cover, and finished installing the heater. Flipped the breaker, and it worked great! (right?)

A couple days later I noticed the room was getting pretty warm... checked the thermostat and it the heater should not have been on, but it was (?) I turned the thermostat completely off - but the heater is still on...

What the heck is going on here?
aquamom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2010, 06:06 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,771
Rewards Points: 2,068
Default


Sounds like it's wired wrong and your not going through the thermostat but direct from the breaker to the heater.

Open up splice box and the heater plate where the wiring is and check the circuit wiring.
COLDIRON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2010, 10:05 AM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Thanks for answering coldiron.

The original wiring was from the old baseboard, so I know it's hooked up to the thermostat correctly. Checked all the connections... no problem there either.

I installed two of the same (lower wattage) heaters which worked with the same thermostat....

Any other ideas?


Aqua
aquamom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2010, 11:09 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,771
Rewards Points: 2,068
Default


If your sure the wiring is correct then you have a defective thermostat.

Good Luck
COLDIRON is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing old in-wall electric heater tomaszp HVAC 7 12-29-2009 08:15 PM
Is my panel sufficient to add Electric water heater andy Electrical 16 04-21-2009 08:34 AM
Electric Heater MikeyP HVAC 2 12-20-2008 10:15 AM
240V Electric Heater install - 3 wire vs. 4 wire? dhgarage Electrical 7 12-12-2008 10:49 PM
Electric Water Heater Problem mw2727 Plumbing 4 08-21-2008 01:51 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts