Need Help - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 03-26-2010, 10:48 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Need help


I have 3 wire direct bury feeder cable from a 200 amp meter base/sub panel to a 125 amp sub panel on a post 150' away and the 125 amp sub panel will feed a 30 amp RV outlet box.
The 3 wire feed was already there and I know it is not to 2008 code, but my question is: do I need to bond the neutral bar to the ground bar and to a ground rod at the 125 amp subpanel?
METZCOOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-26-2010, 10:58 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 992
Rewards Points: 506
Default


I think the answer is no, because I assume the 200 amp meter base is the primary means of disconnecting your power. The location of the main disconnect is the only place where the neutral is bonded to ground.

Other replies will yield additional information.

How is the existing service non-compliant with the 2008 code?
jlmran is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-26-2010, 11:10 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Here is what I am attempting:
Attached Thumbnails
Need help-120224.jpg  
METZCOOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-26-2010, 11:34 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 992
Rewards Points: 506
Default


I believe this is wrong. You need an additional conductor going from the main panel to the subpanel. This additional conductor should serve as the 'effective fault path' referenced in the diagram, or in other terms, the bonding or grounding conductor. The neutral between main and subpanel should not serve as a fault-path conductor.

More bad logic: what is the purpose of the insulated stand-offs for the subpanel neutral busbar if the ground and neutral bars are bonded in the subpanel?

Last edited by jlmran; 03-26-2010 at 11:36 PM.
jlmran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 12:19 AM   #5
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 7,551
Rewards Points: 6,290
Default


prior to the 08 code, if you ran a 3 wire feeder to a detached building, you must install a grounding electrode and the grounding and grounded systems are to be bonded in the panel in the detached building

08 code removed the allowance to run a 3 conductor system and required a separate grounded and grounding conductor to be taken to the detached building. The grounded and grounding systems are then not to be bonded. a grounding electrode system is still installed.

if you are currently under the 08 code, your installation is illegal.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 07:26 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Our township is still on 05 code, in that case the diagram is correct and and I need to bond the neutral,ground and case to a grounding rod the best I can tell ?
METZCOOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 09:23 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 992
Rewards Points: 506
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by METZCOOL View Post
Our township is still on 05 code, in that case the diagram is correct and and I need to bond the neutral,ground and case to a grounding rod the best I can tell ?
That depends on whether you are pursuing minimal compliance or maximum safety.
jlmran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 01:48 PM   #8
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 7,551
Rewards Points: 6,290
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by METZCOOL View Post
Our township is still on 05 code, in that case the diagram is correct and and I need to bond the neutral,ground and case to a grounding rod the best I can tell ?
If you are on the 05 code, yes, you can run with only 3 conductors. The grounding electrode system (presumably a couple rods in your case), and the grounded conductor (neutral) must be bonded at the sub-panel.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 06:41 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: central virginia mountains
Posts: 1,857
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default


why not make it right/better since you can?
__________________
The older I get the better I was
tpolk is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts