My Electrical Adventure From A Few Days Ago - Electrical - Page 3 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 06-12-2010, 08:50 PM   #31
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,597
Rewards Points: 1,192
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
I deal with POCO pretty often so I know excatally what they are up to so anyway Red.,

The reason why they have issue with slamming all the way due some fuse or recloser aka high voltage resetable circuit breaker with lock out feature on it.

Most common curpit useally overload that when the fuse go out and when the POCO try install new one and it flash over it will tell you either have short circuit or serious overload { more common to find overload circuit during refuseing it } so that one thing you will noticed the lights will flicker few time then after that it stay on steady.

{ note a tip if you see light blink in sequince like go off then back on first two or so seconds if go off again it stay off little longer then thrid time repeat if still trip out it will go in lockout mode that what the recloser will do and many time they will reclose it pretty quick due some case have tree branches and from time to time POCO lines will touch each other and trip the recloser.}


If you have more question just holler I will be more than happy to answer it.

READERS:
If you see your house or your area lights are blinking or go out just call the POCO one way or other they will send someone out and fix or verify the system.

Merci,Marc
Maybe in France they would be right over. Not in Eighty Four,pa.15330
bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-12-2010, 10:12 PM   #32
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Red Squirrel View Post
Yeah was not 100% sure if it was grounded but assumed so, and knew it was for safety and not functionality. but I'm still confused as to how this can work when there is only a single high voltage conductor like on my street. How is the other side of the first winding terminated? The way the wires are layed out is, there is one conductor on top of the pole, then below is the low voltage circuit, possibly more then one, it's fairly thick and hard to tell how many wires but guessing at least 3, and each house connects to it, then below that is cable TV and phone.



The low voltage line is on the secondary side of the transformer though, how is the primary fed with just one wire? I can't see properly how it's wired though because of a tree in my path of view. Maybe there's a feed coming from the ground up the pole through a conduit or something to feed the second conductor. Can't see why they'd seperate them like that though.
From Wikipedia----------

Single wire earth return
(SWER) or single wire ground return is a single-wire transmission line for supplying single-phaseelectrical power from an electrical grid to remote areas at low cost. It is principally used for rural electrification, but also finds use for larger isolated loads such as water pumps, and light rail. Single wire earth return is also used for HVDC over submarine power cables.

In Ontario, power is generated by 3 phase DELTA wound generators.
It is distributed through out the province to transformers connected in a DELTA configuration. The secondary windings of these transformers are wired in a 'Y' configuration.
The common point of the Y is connected to the earth through ground rods.
THE A-B-C phases are then sent away in various directions. In cities, A could feed one street, B and C other streets.
The transformers on the street have one pole of the primary winding connected to one of these single phases (hence our single phase service). The other primary pole will connect to a ground rod.
The secondary of the transformer is, as you are aware, centre tapped and the centre tap is connected to a ground rod also.

Last edited by Wildie; 06-12-2010 at 10:14 PM.
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-13-2010, 07:11 AM   #33
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default


Thanks Wildie for the insight on Ontario power. It sure help when we can make since out of what we see . I'm on a rural electric co-op and the only difference is they bring the neutral along on the pole. Who knows, maybe it is required in the US..
Electrically is looks something like this:
Attached Thumbnails
My electrical adventure from a few days ago-single-wire-tx.jpg  

Last edited by a7ecorsair; 06-13-2010 at 07:22 AM.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-13-2010, 05:23 PM   #34
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,550
Rewards Points: 528
Default


So essentially, there is thousands of volts "circulating" underground? How is it that there are no dangers, is it because it's all at the same potential?
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2010, 06:19 PM   #35
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Red Squirrel View Post
So essentially, there is thousands of volts "circulating" underground? How is it that there are no dangers, is it because it's all at the same potential?
There is no voltage underground. Voltage is a difference in potential between to points so everything in the ground is Zero
Now current is a different story. There is just as much current at Zero Volts in the ground as there is current in the hot line of the primary side of the transformer - all the transformers
Remember, what leaves the source will find its way back to the source.

It's really not any different than the frame of a car, well the old cars that had a metal frame, where one side of each light was just tied to the frame and the one battery lead was also tied to the frame to make the circuit complete.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to install new electrical box without attic access gilmores33 Electrical 10 02-14-2010 07:46 PM
Electrical Engineer allowed to do Electrical work? SarahJennifer Electrical 48 09-21-2009 08:15 PM
Slight electrical current in bathroom faucet water + other unusual electrical events story Electrical 9 09-16-2009 10:28 PM
Electrical box replace,addiitions, city permits and looking for an electrician ramchy Electrical 3 08-02-2009 11:12 AM
2 Prong Electrical mjcongleton Electrical 10 04-16-2008 08:59 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts