Multiwire Branch Circuit - Electrical - Page 3 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 03-12-2010, 06:53 AM   #31
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 8,597
Rewards Points: 2,800
Default


That style of handle tie may be for manual turn off only and may fit too loosely to turn off both halves of the circuit in case of an overload that trips one breaker.

Also some breakers have a loose enough internal linkage so that tripping does not move the handle far enough to turn off other breakers linked to it.

Most cautions regarding multiwire branch circuits have to do with working on the wiring in which case the handle tie ensures that you turn off both halves.
__________________
Stick to your lawn watering schedule until it really starts to pour. After the storm you have only the same number of rest days you always had and then you need to start watering again.

Last edited by AllanJ; 03-12-2010 at 07:02 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-12-2010, 06:59 AM   #32
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,271
Rewards Points: 1,032
Default


But will it prevent just one breaker from tripping, because the other one is holding it ON?
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-12-2010, 07:01 AM   #33
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,413
Rewards Points: 5,082
Default


2 pole breakers are designed with common trip. Using handle tie on two single pole breakers does not provide a common trip, it isn't supposed to. The purpose of a handle tie is to provide a common manual opening of both circuits. Either breaker will still trip upon an overload or short circuit.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-12-2010, 07:03 AM   #34
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,271
Rewards Points: 1,032
Default


Makes sense.

I just don't see how one could trip without the other, since they are tied together. How can one move without the other?

Or...would a breaker handle not move to the off position if it is tied to another breaker? Meaning you would have to turn both breakers OFF then ON to reset a tripped breaker.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2010, 07:15 AM   #35
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,413
Rewards Points: 5,082
Default


A breaker does not trip to the off position. That is why you must push it to off and then to on to reset it from the tripped position.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2010, 08:45 PM   #36
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,550
Rewards Points: 528
Default


Personally I would just install a double pole breaker and call it even.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2010, 09:33 PM   #37
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,271
Rewards Points: 1,032
Default


I just went back to my friend's house to help finish this electrical project...turns out the two breakers in this MWBC are not even anywhere near each other in the panel....guess the electrician who did his house didn't do things right.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 11:56 PM   #38
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by secutanudu View Post
I just went back to my friend's house to help finish this electrical project...turns out the two breakers in this MWBC are not even anywhere near each other in the panel....guess the electrician who did his house didn't do things right.
I have see worst than that.,,

I have one load centre in commercal building that have three phase supply try to find all the MWBC in that load centre was fun allright { the whole place have conduit so there is no MC or BX or Romex to simpleify it } that load centre have 14 3 MWBC's there { 42 total circuits there and all are 20 amps @ 277 volts !! }


Not always electrician put them in odd place some case home owner may put it on wrong spot or not group it but commercal location that diffrent story a simple answer a unqualifed person mess around the system like above that was time comusing task to sort it out.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need a wiring diagram Mooreski Electrical 47 02-01-2015 03:07 PM
Tripping breakers,neutrals,120 volts and 240 volts OH My!!! Stubbie Electrical 17 06-11-2011 06:09 AM
Sharing Neutrals on the same phase electro Electrical 30 08-12-2010 02:10 PM
Can I change where power enters a branch circuit? RST Electrical 15 07-21-2009 07:38 PM
multiwire branch circuit question Jeremy Hillary Boob, PhD Electrical 9 11-18-2008 03:16 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts