Multiple Outlets From One Source (14-2) - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 02-06-2010, 09:53 PM   #1
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Multiple Outlets From One Source (14-2)


Three Gang Box

Source(14-2)--PigTail(a)--Switch(1)--PigTail(a)--Switch(2)--PigTail(a)--Switch(3)--Pigtail(b)--Recptacle--Pigtail(b)--[Create New]Source(14-2)--Switch(4)--Pigtail(b)--Switch(5)

This seems not to properly work, as it switches off other lights and receptacle... I have pigtail source to each light and pigtail to power to other switches and one recptacle. It works in another area of home and seems to turn off lights in this method... thou it is the same... I wonder if I need (14-3), but I should be able to use (14-2) if I pigtail source?
J.A.M is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-06-2010, 11:03 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 608
Rewards Points: 500
Default


You might have to step back from the details and give a little bit more of an overview.

It sounds like you have a 3 gang box and a 2 gang box with switches for 5 lights, plus you have an outlet between the two boxes that needs power (but is not switched). But that's just my best guess because the way you've got the wiring and pigtails listed, you have 4 things in the 3 gang box.

If my description is accurate, than all you need to do in the gang boxes is connect the black wire from each light to the desired switch. Connect black pigtails to the other side of each switch. Finally, just wire-nut all the free black together and all the free whites together.

But the answer is so simplistic, I feel like I'm missing something from the question.
HooKooDooKu is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-07-2010, 12:15 AM   #3
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 7,551
Rewards Points: 6,290
Default


ca you draw a line drawing. It makes things so much easier to understand.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-07-2010, 12:22 PM   #4
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default


All White(yellow shown) & bare copper are together with wirenut(s).

Multiple Outlets From One Source (14-2)-layout1.gif

I am right now going though all the lines and see what could cause this... I will have to use new switches to see if that maybe the cause, but still do not how it would switch off power to another line if source is pigtailed to the other two lines.


Switch(2) was my Source and had to reverse it to correct my problem. I mark my lines incorrectly and now all is fine.

Thanks to those who helped...

Last edited by J.A.M; 02-07-2010 at 01:37 PM. Reason: Found Problem
J.A.M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 03:57 PM   #5
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 7,551
Rewards Points: 6,290
Default


good to hear you did it yourself.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 07:39 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 32
Rewards Points: 25
Default


Pigtail Madness

THATS A PIGTAIL
longbeach1125 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 wire outlets: connect neutral to ground? border collie Electrical 19 04-12-2013 12:29 PM
Outlets from multiple baths on the same circuit? BimmerRacer Electrical 10 01-27-2010 12:33 PM
Multiple 220 volt outlets Strider Electrical 25 01-31-2009 11:38 AM
Multiple coax tv cable outlets flyultralite Electrical 7 11-25-2008 01:09 PM
outlets work, but barely (?) joeyboy Electrical 7 08-27-2008 08:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts