Multi-power Switch - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 04-13-2010, 08:59 AM   #1
Member
 
cowboy dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 77
Rewards Points: 75
Default

multi-power switch


where can i find a switch that could turn on my dust collector when one of various power tools are turned on? it's not a conventional piece.

it's for table saw, band saw, radial arm saw, and a sigle port for my various sanders.
cowboy dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-13-2010, 09:08 AM   #2
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,414
Rewards Points: 5,084
Default


rockler.com
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to brric For This Useful Post:
cowboy dan (04-13-2010)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-13-2010, 10:54 AM   #3
Member
 
cowboy dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 77
Rewards Points: 75
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
rockler.com
thanks can you think of a price range?
cowboy dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-13-2010, 11:01 AM   #4
fabrk8r
 
fabrk8r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Iowa
Posts: 849
Rewards Points: 500
Default


Intelligent plug-in switch automatically controls a vacuum or dust collector through the power tool’s on/off switch! Eliminates continual running of vacuum to preserve the vacuum motor life. Ideal for miter saws, table saws, sanders, routers and planers. Easy to install — just plug it in!

http://www.rockler.com/product.cfm?p...&filter=SWITCH

Price is listed in the link.
__________________
"The physician can bury his mistakes, but the architect can only advise his clients to plant vines." -- Frank Lloyd Wright
fabrk8r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 01:25 PM   #5
Member
 
cowboy dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 77
Rewards Points: 75
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by fabrk8r View Post
Intelligent plug-in switch automatically controls a vacuum or dust collector through the power tool’s on/off switch! Eliminates continual running of vacuum to preserve the vacuum motor life. Ideal for miter saws, table saws, sanders, routers and planers. Easy to install — just plug it in!

http://www.rockler.com/product.cfm?p...&filter=SWITCH

Price is listed in the link.

thanks for the link, i was wanting that for my 110 tools, but what about my table saw and band saw. they are 110 at the moment but when i get my sub panel installed those larger tools will be on 240. any thoughts?
cowboy dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 01:40 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Get a 24vac relay or relays which contacts can handle a motor load at the current you need or will be needing. Hosfelt.com and others sometimes have great prices for this things.
Then you switch all the relays simultaneously with almost any switch and any 24vac transformer.

Last edited by Yoyizit; 04-13-2010 at 01:43 PM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Yoyizit For This Useful Post:
cowboy dan (04-13-2010)
Old 04-13-2010, 01:42 PM   #7
fabrk8r
 
fabrk8r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Iowa
Posts: 849
Rewards Points: 500
Default


You could just buy a 240V double-pole single-throw switch. If you want the ability to just turn the saw on at times without the duct collection system starting, get a double-pole double-throw switch.

McMaster-Carr has them.

http://www.mcmaster.com/#lighting-controls/=6n8ub9
__________________
"The physician can bury his mistakes, but the architect can only advise his clients to plant vines." -- Frank Lloyd Wright
fabrk8r is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to fabrk8r For This Useful Post:
cowboy dan (04-13-2010)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Double switch wiring rockclimber Electrical 18 03-18-2012 10:13 PM
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 09:33 AM
Power from Fixture to Switch Not working madjoseph Electrical 5 09-26-2009 02:57 PM
no power to light switch diople Electrical 6 05-16-2009 01:40 PM
Adding a Switch and jump power Bull-37 Electrical 9 01-10-2008 05:45 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts