Moving Dryer - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 09-05-2010, 11:16 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Moving dryer


I am moving my dryer to another location. I will be running the wires through the attic. Do I need to derate the wires due to the heat in the attic. It has a 30 amp, 240 volt circuit. Can I use #10 NM. The distance is approx. 65 ft. The max. outdoor temp. is 100 degrees, inside the attic ???

Last edited by plugnec; 09-05-2010 at 03:00 PM.
plugnec is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-05-2010, 12:08 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Where are you located ?
How hot does the attic get ?



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-05-2010, 01:31 PM   #3
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,550
Rewards Points: 528
Default


If you can, keep them under the insulation, and not over. Not always easy. Sometimes you can split a batt in half (just by ripping it with your hands) so you can pass it "through" the insulation. I've done that before where the wire was passing through the joists at the half way mark (normally how it is).

Though, I'm pretty sure most romex is rated at like 100 degrees or something like that.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-05-2010, 02:09 PM   #4
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 10,026
Rewards Points: 704
Default


NM cable made for since 1984 has been rated for 90 degrees C (194 degrees F.). I doubt that your attic could get hot enough to exceed that. Run your cable on top of the insulation. You will disrupt your insulation by trying to get the cable below it and cause heat leak problems.

You do not have to derate the cable for temp. or the 65 feet.
__________________
My electrical answers are based on 2014 NEC, you may have local amendments.

Location: Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 03:22 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


While it is rated for 90c you are supposed to derate when ambient temps exceed 86f per table 310.16

For an attic that gets extremely hot you may need to derate quite a bit
And since you need 30a for the dryer that means going to a larger wire size

Is your attic vented ?



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 05:12 PM   #6
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 10,026
Rewards Points: 704
Default


Dave,

While I am sure that you are reading the code correctly, I have never seen a 10-3 (30 amp) dryer cable or a 10- (30 amp) water heater cable derated or the wire size up to account for running in a hot attic. I live in SC and the attics get pretty hot.

Usually these appliances (dryer or water heater) use well under 30 amps, so that even a derated 10 ga cable is sufficient.

Edited to change my mis-use of 12 when I meant 10 ga.
__________________
My electrical answers are based on 2014 NEC, you may have local amendments.

Location: Coastal South Carolina

Last edited by rjniles; 09-05-2010 at 05:26 PM.
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 05:15 PM   #7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 11,730
Rewards Points: 526
Default


http://www.diychatroom.com/f18/over-...n-attic-79469/

Try not to compress the insulation, if you have any ice dams above it this winter, you'll know why.

Gary
__________________
If any ads are present below my answer or words underlined/colored, I do not condone/support/use the product or services listed/linked to, they are there without my consent.
17,000 dryer fires a year, when did you last clean the inside of the dryer near motor or the exhaust ducting?
Gary in WA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2010, 12:42 AM   #8
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Just make sure you have 4 wire dryer cord and receptale once you move the dryer to new location it allready written in the code for a while { 1996 that when it kick in }

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Moving Washer and Dryer upstairs from basement pennypoopie General DIY Discussions 3 08-23-2009 05:29 PM
moving my washer and dryer coastalcomplete Plumbing 4 03-03-2009 09:45 PM
Moving washer and dryer into Garage, perhaps some constucion needed? J187 Building & Construction 4 05-21-2008 11:53 AM
moving gas dryer sonofthetonsured Appliances 12 07-07-2007 10:56 PM
Moving washer/ dryer from 1st to 2nd floor sebastien1 Remodeling 33 11-08-2006 09:31 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts